We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Season Special
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently took our first trip to Cost Rica. We booked our travel and excursions through Costa Rica Vacations. We were very happy with our experience. The hotel staff at Flamingo Beach Resort were unbelievable. The rooms were ok but the staff made this place somewhere I would stay again. I would also recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Book in advance for best room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your first of what we hope will be many visits to Costa Rica. We appreciate your taking the time to write a positive review of your stay. Also, thank you for recognizing our friendly and industrious staff and for recommending our resort to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    494
    177
    61
    30
See reviews for
415
595
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a great experience at Flamingo Beach Resort. The staff was extremely friendly and wiling to assist at a moments notice. The resort had everything we wanted. Pool was spotless and had plenty of shaded areas including a covered kiddie pool and swim up bar. The New Years fireworks lasted nearly 20 minutes and rivaled anything I have ever seen in the States. The beach was perfect. Clean and never crowded. Sunsets were phenomenal. The absence of hecklers was welcome relief. We did a snorkeling tour with Bismarck and Luis who took us to an island just off the coast. Had the whole place to ourselves! The concierge Andres was very helpful in setting up some of our other excursions which we drove to ourselves. The only negatives were wi fi could have been better and the ac remote, beeped in the middle of the night. The staff rectified right away. We loved Costa Rica for its unspoiled beauty and thoroughly enjoyed our visit at FBR

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so very happy to read your lovely review of our resort and our New Year's Eve celebration, because we spend months planning it and our staff works so very hard (almost 24 hour shifts) to pull it off and make every year better than the last. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Costa Rica vacation and had a great experience at our resort. Hope you will come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orovada, NV
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved this hotel! From the minute we checked in, we were treated like royalty! The room was large and clean, the bathroom was clean and stocked with amenities. The spotless beach was right there! We were near the pool, which was a highlight, with it's swim-up bar. Our bartenders, Leo and Elias, were so friendly and accommodating, PLUS they poured some wonderful drinks. Elias even told me how he makes Gallo Pinto at his house. When we had to leave, it felt like we were leaving old friends. I can't praise them enough. We ate breakfast at the restaurant with beach view daily, and the food and service was excellent. That beach at sunset was magnificent! The WiFi was spotty at best, but we really didn't care. I would rather spend time with the two iguanas that showed up on the pool deck, to bum cherries from guests' drinks! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Just got back home from a nine-night stay with my family at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. A very pleasant 4-star experience with the pros including the great beach, a great pool area, a more than decent breakfast buffet, friendly service, an ok gym, and comfortable rooms. Areas for development would include a free shuttle service to Brasilito and a somewhat quicker service in the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and it is on a perfect beach. We had a corner room on the beach side of the hotel and loved it. Spectacular views. The staff is super friendly and helpful but don't plan on doing any work on your computer. The Internet is unreliable. It is included in the price of the hotel. The price is very high in December--$650 per night-- and they can get away with it because the hotel is in a class of its own on this beach. Much nicer beach than nearby Tamarindo Beach. The breakfast is OK, nothing special but the buffet dinner is great.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem pretty good but some have better views than others. Best views are the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wife and I + our 2 daughters (18&23 y/o), stayed Dec.26-Jan.2 and had a great visit. The all inclusive option worked well for us. Room was good, food was good (Ceviche is great). Great, clean beach.
Arranged roundtrip transfers through resort...worked out fine, but was way overpriced we soon learned. We paid $160 roundtrip from Liberia airport, could have paid less than 1/2 of that. Upon arrival on Dec. 26, easy check in. Given a sample of their signature drink (Green Monster...very tasty), and taken directly to our family suite that includes fridge, microwave, kitchen sink and basic cookware. We were hungry so checked out the beach and hit lunch. Fantastic (virtually ideal) beach...very clean and well kept. Though no beaches in Costa Rica are private, this one not too busy even during the high, dry, Holiday season.
The main dining joint (Arenas) contrary to some reports on here was really quite good with a fairly wide selection. The breakfast buffet (with made to order eggs) was fair in my opinion but the fresh fruit and juices were fine and the coffee of course was great. Lunch and dinner options always included a buffet or a fairly extensive menu. We almost always went with the menu as it was (imo) much better. The ceviche, shrimp cocktail and calamari were all of high to superior quality and relatively unique preparations. The salads (particularly the Caprese) were good to great. The soups were average. The entrees (we tried virtually all of them between the 4 of us) ranged from fair to outstanding. None of the beef, pork or chicken dishes rate above average (imo)...I was not a fan of the quality of the meats (particularly the steaks)...but the fish, pasta and seafood dishes which dominate the menu were all good to oustanding. The whole snapper and the princess sea bass were particular standouts. Desserts were average, but fairly wide range of them.
The room was clean. Room had 2 double beds (tiny) and a fold out couch. The television was a decent flat panel with cable, HBO, Cinemax, ESPN, etc. Only a handful of English language channels...but the ones they had were the "main" ones. Housekeeping did a fine job daily (though they often only left us 3 towels rather than 4...and never left toilet paper even when we were obviously getting low.) These are minor things...overall, housekeeping did a great job.
We did not book any tours through the hotel as we found better values and more individualized tours elsewhere (see separate reviews on this site for that.) The folks who did book tours through the hotel seemed quite happy with them though.
The other hotel amenities were nice to have around. A casino (slots only) was only open a few evenings. The workout rooms was not very well ventilated...making working out a bit uncomfortable. The game room was great with a mini-market for basic necessities like sunglasses, lotion, etc. They also had a movie theater that showed decent, recent releases. We did not use the (nice looking) spa. The gift shop was just ok. The best amenity actually is the photo studio. They have photographers taking pictures constantly and sell the hi-res images (no prints) at the shop. The photographers are actually pretty talented. Though overpriced (of course) we felt they did get some nice shots that we did not get on our personal cameras.
The staff overall were outstanding and passionate about their work. The front desk staff were always helpful. The Arenas dining staff were very good. Particularly, Alexandra (hope I got that spelling right) was outstanding. She never stopped...was always running but had that special skill of making every interaction personal. She is a very special hospitality person...she ought to have a very bright future.
Since we were there over the New Year, we enjoyed the Dec.31 celebration at the resort. They really went all out with a total redo of the entire outdoor and dining areas of the resort in 1 afternoon. Very impressive. They had a very good band who played mostly popular Costa Rica dance music...they got everyone dancing. The dinner that was prepared was quite "fancy" for a buffet with impressive ice and food carvings by a single chef (Raymond I believe...quite a talented food artist.) At midnight, they had a rather incredible fireworks display for about 20 minutes that was like a July 4th finale that would not end...the whole place was pretty wowed by it.
Overall, we were quite pleased with Flamingo Beach Resort and would recommend it to any couple or family as an ideal choice on one of the best beaches on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed with our family at the hotel - it's a very good location for families - the pool is nice and the service also attentive - we stayed here over New Years and the party the hotel put on was great - The one thing we didn't enjoy was the towel pool wars - people would drop a towel on a lounge chair and not use it the entire day, I think the hotel should intervene. We didn't mind the bracelets as it is also a security measure to ensure safety.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.