We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got back from Costa Rica and had a great time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Season Special
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just got back from Costa Rica and had a great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Flamingo Beach Resort had clean rooms and adequate accommodations. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant had good food and there were so many activities to do. All in all we had a great vacation and would recommend the country and the resort!

Cons-do agree with other travelers that the WIFI was terrible...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed the food and the activities at our resort. We are very fortunate to have such a friendly, hard-working staff and we thank you for recognizing them. We apologize for the difficulties you had with our WiFi; believe me when I say that we have invested a lot of money in quality routers and other equipment and we are constantly having the technicians come to the property. Unfortunately, no matter what we do, in our area the service provider--which is government owned---is just terrible and our Internet service goes out all the time and there is nothing we can do about. It is soooo frustrating, and we do wish our guests would not judge us on something that is most often out of our control. Thank you for your feedback, we will keep working at it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    494
    177
    61
    30
See reviews for
415
595
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August for 9 days. We travel a lot and were really seeking a great beach location for our vacation. The beach at the Flamingo was one of the best beaches I have ever been at, the sand is soft and white, the water is crystal clear and the waves are huge which make for a great day in the water body surfing or just playing in the surf. The beach here was just absolute perfection, to the point where I didn't even want to have to leave to go on our 3 planned excursions and be able to go to the beach for the day. The hotel was beautiful with extra large rooms, very clean and modern. The pool was clean and warm with a gorgeous swim up pool bar. In addition, the food at Arenas restaurant was exceptional. We went with the all inclusive package and did not have one meal that we did not like there, the chicken dishes were exceptional. It was also a very private and romantic place especially if you sit outside by the ocean and just sit and listen to the waves while you eat. The servers went out of their way to accommodate you. The drinks were very strong and the selection was great. We saw many other resorts while in Costa Rica and none could come close to how beautiful this resort was or how perfect the beach was. In addition, the resort was smaller so it felt much more quaint and personal. In addition, we went during the "rainy season" in late July-early August and it only rained one afternoon for a few hours, so do not let that deter you from traveling during this time of the year. The excursions were great but there is enough to do at the hotel and around the hotel that you don't even need to leave the property. We cannot wait to return next year to the Flamingo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for your awesome review, and thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your Costa Rica beach vacation. Perfection is what we strive for, so we are thrilled that we were able to deliver. Pura Vida!! Please come back and see us again, so we can try for "Perfection Plus!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here in the beginning of August with my friends we had the best time. The resort is not a typical Americanized resort where you line up at the buffet for hamburgers and fries, they served a lot of traditional dishes and you could order a la carte during the week, although some of the dishes were very salty at times. My friend and i are picky eaters and we custom ordered every meal the kitchen staff were super accommodating. The beach is beautiful and it's open to the public, so you will see lots of locals too but not busy at all and you could walk down as far as you want without trespassing into another resorts beach area. Water is wavy but it's close to many other beaches. We left the resort many times to do daily excursions which you can arrange from the hotel and it's a $25 cab ride to Tamarindo. The local town is Los Brasilitos and it's safe to go into town and hang out with the locals have a fresh smoothie or some patacones my favourite snack there:)


The service was excellent! We were always greeted with smiles by Orlando, Carlos, William, Alexandra, Lulu and Erik and the concierge staff were super nice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and the local area. And we especially appreciate your recognition of some of our excellent staff members, who always aim to please. We look forward to having you and friends as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beds are very soft and comfortable. Staff is courteous and friendly. Restaurant, pool, and beach is great. Cons - terrible wifi and shower head didn't work properly. Other than that, a great experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort. We are pleased you like much about your stay. We are working on renovating bathrooms and we apologize that you had a faulty showerhead. As to the WiFi, it is sometimes erratic due to the service provider in our area, but as competition opens up in the region we hope that it will get better. We apologize that you were inconvenienced in this regard and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in August 2013, and couldn't be happier with the experience. The whole premises is very well maintained, the staff is friendly, the food is good, and the drinks are strong.

We did the all-inclusive package, and it was well worth it. The menus had lots of variety for our lunches and dinners, but being able to sit on the beach or by the pool all day and drink Imperials or tropical drinks without an additional charge was the icing on the cake.

The pool is nice and large, with shollower areas where guests can lay out in the actual pool (either on chairs or not). And of course, the pool's wet bar was convenient, well stocked, and well staffed.

The beach is a literal stone's throw from the pool (across a 10' dirt road with so little traffic it might as well not exist at all). The beach is pristine, with nice soft sand, and warm tropical water.

You know a resort is great when I can honestly say the most annoying part of my trip was having the use the outdoor shower briefly to wash the beach sand off of me before I got in the pool and swam to the wet bar to order more all-inclusive drinks!

10/10 would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. Sounds like you had a wonderful taste of the Pura Vida lifestyle during your visit. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay (early August 2013) at the Flamingo. All the meals were excellent, including the buffet breakfast and lunch. The swim-up bar was great as was the beach and waves which were a thirty second walk from the pool. Our room was more than satisfactory with an excellent view (a little more expensive of course for the ocean view). We didn't spend much time in the room. Definitely consider the Flamingo!

Room Tip: Request an ocean view - approximately $100 more per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hugs and kisses to you and your girlfriend for such a lovely review! We always hope that all of our guests have the wonderful experience that you describe in your review! Thank you so much for this positive feedback, it means so much to our hardworking staff. Please come back and see us whenever you can; we will be waiting for you with a cold Imperial in one hand an icy tropical Mojito in the other!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The pool is nice, the room are just ok. But the beach is perfect more quiet and less touristic than other beaches around.

Right outside the resort in the front of the beach you can find Christian. who works with Rigo Suave CR tours & transfer, he will help you to book any tours you want to do. Christian helped us to book a sunset catamaran tour and a wonderful tour on a river to see the wildlife. Rigo, our guide was very friendly and full of advice and knowledge about the area, we even had a lunch in small traditional restaurant, it was just perfect !!! Thanks again guys for your help.

Room Tip: avoid room in the top floor, they are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We appreciate your business and the time you took to write this review and provide feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful beach. While we are a small family business with limited resources, you can be absolutely sure that we will continue to reinvest in our property to upgrade our guestrooms on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.