We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive Blowout!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Flamingo
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Resort and Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Flamingo for a week in January 2013. We enjoyed our stay very much. The resort was clean and well staffed. The food in the restaurant was very good. We did not have the all inclusive but did have the breakfast buffet as part of our room package. Our room was a studio. Two beds with a pullout couch and kitchenette. The pool area was quite large and the beach was just a few steps away. The beach is a public beach but the area across from the resort did allow for beach chairs from the resort, which were usually available when we arrived on the beach. Several types of vendors in the beach area. We took advantage of the massage right on the beach under the trees. $20 for half hour - good bargain! Costa Rican people were very friendly either in the resort or at the nearby restaurants. Worst part of the trip was the trip from the airport to the resort. Approximately 1 hour. We rented a car and found driving in Costa Rica to be almost a free for all and the roads are not in the best shape but it seems they are trying to improve. If you rent a car, know that you must take their insurance - it is a law there. I would recommend this resort to anyone that travels to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and always read and discuss these reviews in our weekly staff meetings. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and hope that you tried some other meals in our Arenas Restaurant and/or Sunset Lounge. We're sorry that you didn't like the ride over from Liberia Airport. The roads have improved so much from what they used to be, that sometimes we forget that they are still not up to U.S. standards! Glad you arrived safely and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    518
    426
    152
    55
    25
See reviews for
340
510
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room with well equipped kitchenette, large sofa, comfortable chairs on a large balcony and an amazing view. Very friendly personnal, some of them even speaking french (my native language).
Acceptable food for breakfast and lunch. Nice private beach, but the hotel could not provide any chair. Three swimming pools. The mots sunny one, near the bar was overcrowded with kids and the water was cloudy. Another more secluded pool was fine.confortable seatings in the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your Costa Rica vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your visit overall, and appreciate your comments so that we can always strive to provide a better guest experience. We do provide beach chairs for our guests, so we are very sorry that in your case this amenity was not available for some reason. We also apologize that the pool was crowded with kids during your stay and the water cloudy. We clean and test it every single morning, but the large amount of suntan lotion that washes into the pool water really does a number on the clarity. We're happy you discovered and enjoyed our other more secluded pool area on the north side of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family of 14, ranging in age from 4 to 71 are just back from a delightful 9 days at the resort. The staff is wonderful, the pool fabulous for all of us, the beach is gorgeous, the food is superb and we found the staff very willing to accommodate our two family members with dietary restrictions. We had a few days that we had planned 'off campus' activities, but otherwise we all were quite content to relax & swim in the multiple pools, or the ocean .. or walk along the beach.
Our evenings were often spent in the family center. And, they put on a really amazing New Year's eve party with a truly spectacular fireworks display. We were all sorry to depart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It's fantastic for us to hear of a multi-generational family enjoying our resort, as three generations of our own family have spent every New Year's holiday here. We have really tried over the years to offer something for everyone to enjoy. Our New Year's Eve party with the amazing fireworks display has become a Flamingo Beach tradition that hundreds of people come from near and far to enjoy-- but only our resort guests get a privileged "front row seat" to the show, along with dancing to a live band and DJ, a delicious buffet dinner and drinks. We are so happy to know that your entire family enjoyed it and hope that you come back and see us again! Thank you for sharing your review of your visit on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned as a family (with 2 teens) from a week at the Flamingo Beach Resort. The service was very good from the moment we arrived until we left. This is not a huge resort, which was great for us and it's beautifully laid out. The resort provides all you need (a concierge to book any excursion you want, a beautiful spa, a good restaurant overlooking the Pacific, large pool and swim up pool bar, gym, activities) and the proximity to the beach/ocean is wonderful! You can also walk to several restaurants close by, including one of the 10 best in Costa Rica. Our room was spacious (we had the Junior Honeymoon Suite), clean and quiet. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we plan to return!

Room Tip: If you are a family, I would suggest the Family Studio or one of the larger rooms. For the addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and are especially happy that you plan to return! We pride ourselves on being a great destination for a family vacation and were so glad to be of service to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I traveled by myself in November to Costa Rica as a fact finding trip for moving my family here. Flamingo beach resort was a great deal in November. I paid only $80 for my room. I asked for a secure room as I was traveling alone and was given a huge room with 2 beds and a kitchenette, I didn't want a sliding glass door near the pool as they originally offered me. Everyone was super friendly, nice, helpful and generally seemed happy to work there. The rooms are very modern for a Latin American room. They have the typical tile floor but felt very warm with the furnishings and decorations. The bed and the linens were exceptionally good for a Latin American hotel. The bathroom was huge. The water pressure was low in the shower but adequate. They had great air conditioning and a nice tv. The lobby is very nice. A bonus...they greet you with a free frozen drink when you arrive! The pool was clean and refreshing with nice chairs. The beautiful beach is right across a small dirt road. I felt very safe here even traveling alone, walking on the beach, etc. I had an hour massage on the beach for $20. It was under the palms on a massage table. It was amazing! I believe the woman's name was Orfa. Technically I guess it's illegal but it was worth it (the masseuse could get fined, but no problems for you). I returned after a week to this same hotel and again had a very positive experience. I will definitely be back. The one downside...it has an all inclusive option and there were some obnoxious drinking people taking advantage of the all you can drink alcohol policy at the pool at one point.

Room Tip: Get a bigger room without pool view. The pool can be noisy and the rooms away from the pool seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a great stay at the Flamingo. The beach was great- loved to watch the waves crash onto the shore. The room was nice. The spa was AMAZING! Wish the resort had more activities/ entertainment. The sunset lounge was a great place to eat- full menu- no reservation needed. Wait staff up there is great- amazing martini's

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent 3 days here and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very nice, clean and though quite large seems quiet and relaxed. Great pool with lots of loungers, pretty bar and restaurant overlooking the pool. The hotel entrance is very open and pleasant, the staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive. The rooms are a good size with very comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. There was plenty of wildlife even though the gardens were tidy and manicured: we saw iguanas, many birds and a raccoon! Really enjoyed it! Would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.