We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean Location at a Great Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean Location at a Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an eight day stay at this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect, the ocean is your back yard. We were greeted very warmly upon arrival with a very tasty island fruit drink. Our room was on the second floor and had a nice, private balcony overlooking the pool (I really liked the privacy of the balcony, much more private than most American hotels). Along with the beach comes a lot of sand, the housekeeping staff was superb! No sooner had we put the little sign on to have the room cleaned and we would return from breakfast to a totally clean room. The entire hotel is impeccably clean. The food is good, however, the breakfast buffet is pretty much the same every day. We had purchased the breakfast plan so it got a little boring after 8 days. The concierge was very helpful with helping us plan some very good excursions. I have two minor negatives: the water pressure is extremely low-it was hard to get off all of the sand from the beach and, the air conditioning in the fitness room sometimes wasn't turned on (no central air in hotel, all wall units and open air lobby) and even when it was on was not sufficiently cool for the room. All in all The Flamingo is a great place and we would go back again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, either pool or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & spa for your recent Costa Rica vacation and for sharing this nice review on Trip Advisor. With regard to your constructive criticism about the water pressure: As we have mentioned before in this forum, water is scarce in the Guanacaste region--although it certainly doesn't seem it during the rainy season, when you visited---so all ecologically responsible hotels try to implement water-saving methods to make sure that our wells don't run dry towards the end of the dry season (March/April). Having said that, we understand that the lack of water pressure has been causing guest complaints, and this is not acceptable to us because your comfort is extremely important! As a result, we have invested in new technologies to help us save water in other areas and next year we will be making a large investment in renovating our guest bathrooms and making sure that the water pressure in all the showers will be up to our guests' expectations. Thank you so much for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    452
    163
    58
    27
See reviews for
369
543
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn,
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have to say I am an off-the beaten path traveler but found love in Flamingo Resort! I was driving around after realizing Brasilito as not the place I wanted to stay. I entered Playa Flamingo and saw a marina and that felt like home to me. (i'm a sailor). We drove up to the Flamingo Resort thinking prices would be unaffordable, turns out it was not and it was a great deal. Did the all inclusive for 2 nights..great for me, but no more. Ended up staying 3 more nights (not all inclusive). Hotel pool was probably the nicest pool ever of any hotel I have stayed at. Hotel staff incredible, safe area to walk around it, great amenities and most importantly this was on the beach. The ocean was a bit rough but totally swimable and warm. I would give this place another visit for sure. Having a rent a car here is key in my opinion!

cant wait to come back and visit!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the pool! Great because you get ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so pleased that you discovered the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and liked what you found! Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We try to provide great value for all types of travelers. And yes, we have a truly privileged location on one of Costa Rica's most beautiful beaches. Hope you'll come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my family have been staying here, once or twice a year, for the last 15 years or so.

I think that is enough said : )

Rooms are Holiday Inn/Hampton Inn/Courtyard/ type. Water pressure is a joke as they have this "devices" in the faucet/shower to "save" water. Just take them off and you should be good. A little tricky to take out the one in the shower but definitely worth it, as it will save you 5-10 minutes of wasted time in the shower....

The best that the Flamingo area has to offer. The ONLY real beach front hotel in Flamingo. Reasonable room prices, food prices might be a bit overpriced but hey, this is a hotel. Maries, across the street, has similar/worst food at the same prices. Cheaper food can be had at Brasilito/Potrero area. Il Forno in Brasilito is a MUST. Cash only so leave the VISA/AMEX in the room.

There is also a new Italian restaurant in the Banco De Costa Rica complex by the Potrero turnoff, right in front of the bank, very good/excellent food at very decent prices... And they deliver to the hotel....

I would definitely stay here again, well been doing so for the past 15 years : )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for being a repeat customer for so many years! We appreciate your business and are so glad you feel that the value continues to be there year after year as we have made so many improvements and changes over time. Regarding the water-saving devices: we are greatly advanced in resolving the water-scarcity issues in our local are of Guanacaste, primarily due to the large investment we made this past year in a state-of-the-art water treatment plant that allows us now to irrigate the gardens with 100% clean, recycled water. As a result, we will be able to remove the pesky devices that lowered the water pressure to the hotel. In fact, we have a full bathroom renovation plan in place to carry out over the next few years. We look forward to seeing you next year and would love to hear your continued feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First and foremost, do not trust your GPS when traveling from Liberia to Playa Flamingo! We ended up on a very scary and dangerous road, climbing up and down mountains on bare bedrock, and we realized too late that there was a much easier and safer way to go. Flamingo Resort has an amazing pool and beautiful beach. It was perfect for us. We used our 3 night stay at Playa Flamingo to completely relax, as we had already done several hikes and excursions at other hotels during our trip. The drinks are definitely over-priced, so if you plan to drink a lot, go for the all inclusive deal. We purchased beer at a grocery store and kept it in our mini fridge, so it was much cheaper. We purchased the breakfast package, and we are glad we did. Breakfasts were good, but they were almost exactly the same each morning. Our air conditioner broke in the middle of our second night, and they quickly had someone up to our room, and ended up moving us to a new room very quickly. when they couldn't repair it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and for sharing you comments. We can only imagine the route your GPS sent you on to get from Liberia Airport to the hotel, because if you just ask for directions and follow signs along two main highways, you will get right to our door on beautifully paved roads in less than an hour. At any rate, we are so relieved that you arrived safely and get some much needed rest and relaxation once you got here! By the way, our drinks are priced reasonably for a beachfront resort, in fact if you've ever ordered a drink at any hotel bar in the U.S, chances are you would have paid more. Our apologies for the a/c malfunction, the salt water erodes this equipment as fast as we can buy it, so we are glad the staff was able to re-accommodate you quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My stay at this great hotel is just about coming to the end. The entire staff at this hotel are EXCEPTIONAL. The bellmen that greet you upon arrival Manuel,Jose and Fernando are very welcoming. The front desk staff that check you in Douglas, Augusto,Jenny,Marianne,Carlos and David are very helpful and always have a smile on their faces.

I was here last year and noticed many new changes. This hotel gets better and better each year. I can't say enough good things about Frank, the new chef. I have enjoyed delicious dinners from
lobster to pasta. His calamari is the best I've ever eaten. All the restaurant staff are GREAT, and a new waitress Alex is terrific.

I was lucking to try a fruit called pej i baye(taste similiar to roasted chestnuts when eaten raw) served w/salt or mayonnaise (thank you Max) and then as a soup (taste more like pumpkin)
thank you Carlos.

I must not forget Blas Mario,Jesus and Rolando the gardners who are delighted to bring you fresh coconuts right from the tree. What a treat.

What makes this hotel outstanding is the personal service you receive. Costa Rican people are the warmest, loving people I had ever met. They go out of there way to make your stay memorable. I will definitely RETURN.

I even experienced the earthquake and want to commend the hotel on taking such good care
of all the guests, keeping us safe and informed at all times.
Thank you Fllamingo Beach Hotel for a great holiday

memphis gal

Room Tip: Room w/ balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We are especially indebted to our return guests such as yourself, who have been with us over the years to see us struggle, survive and then thrive. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for believing in us and for all the wonderful times you have shared with us. You are so kind to point out so many of our amazing, hard-working staff members by name. You truly have become part of our family over the years, as many of our "returnees" are. We agree that Frank (our new chef) and Alex (new waitress/hostess) are a great addition to the Arenas Restaurant and we expect to see even more positive comments in the coming months. We are hopeful that you will be back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakusp
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Flamingo Resort is a nicely kept property right on Playa Flamingo. This is our first visit to Costa RIca and the staff here are friendly and very attentive! The resort is well-maintained with a gorgeous pool and a nice wet bar. Drinks are pricy but they want you to go all-inclusive and it is well worth it if you hang out at the resort all the time everyday. We don't travel like that so we are on the go a lot so we did not go all-inclusive. Arena restaurant has decent food and the prices are about par with most of the local restaurants. We have had some wonderful meals and some average meals and everything has been good. The room is nice but needs some TLC on the paint in some areas but is to be expected on a room that has been well-used. The area is gorgeous and the resort is well managed and the staff is very good!! Concierge service was knowledgeable and the overall ambiance of this resort is quite nice! Recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for pool or beach view on third or second level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to put this positive review on Trip Advisor, and very glad that you would recommend the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to others. We know there are many hotel options for a Costa Rica vacation, so we are truly grateful for your business as well as your comments and constructive feedback. Hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.J.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything at this resort was great, upon our arrival there was a power outage so they could not check us right in to our room, but I must say they handled it very well. We were given welcome cocktails wich were a nice touch. As for the resort itself, it was very nice for the price the staff couldn't be better! Oscar at the bar was the best!! the beach is just steps away from the resort, rooms were clean, there is a nice big pool with a swim up bar, We had the brekfast package so breakfast was complimentry, they had a nice breakfast buffet. we would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for you complimentary remarks about your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! We are so glad that you found our property to your liking, and totally hope that you come on down and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.