We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food...incredible view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willie's Bar and Restaurant

Willie's Bar and Restaurant
hill road 1/3 mile north of Flamingo Hotel and Resort, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Glenwood, MD, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best food...incredible view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a restaurant, the food was the best we had. It was a little pricey but the main issue is that they did not accept credit cards and the ATM's did not accept our cards, but that's another review.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Off the beaten path and you'll wonder why no one is here. However the food is good and the prices are reasonable. The food presentation is excellent. I would recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ghost Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We read reviews and on our last night in Playa Flamingo we decided to try this place. We walked in and it was dark and completely empty. The server saw us and turned on the lights and sat us. It was very eeriee to be the only people in a big hotel/restaurant. We decided to stay and give it a change, and it was just average. My ginger sea bass was soaked in butter and my husbands blackened chicken was dry. The sides were good, but the dinners were about $15 each, not worth it. There were also racoons all over, which were entertaining to see, but not what I wanted to watch while eating dinner. This place looks like it's on it's last legs, and I can see why.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Willie's Bar & Grill ~ Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beautiful view morning or evening to enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner! We go there many times because it is next door to our Casa ReDonda house on the Flamingo Northridge. The food and drinks are excellent. Willie is Costa Rican but has spent many years in the U.S and speaks fluent English. Wonderful servers with personality!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stumbled across Willies while walking up a steep hill to the more exclusive (and more expensive) supposedly best seafood restaurant in Flamingo Beach. The food could not have been better than Willie's and we were especially impressed with the sauces that lightly adorned some of the fish dishes. Sauces on fish is difficult, to both compliment and not overpower, but the chef was great. In addition, the view and sunsets were amazing and the staff just as attendant as other reviewers have noted. Overall the food was much better and the prices cheaper than the big resort hotels. Skip their meal plans and discover Willie's.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Willie's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willie's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.