We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkeling with some bonus sights!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Coast Dive Center

Pacific Coast Dive Center
Centro Comercial Arena #1, Playa Flamingo 50301, Costa Rica
00506 2654 6175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 Activities in Playa Flamingo
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a dedicated long established group of professional divers based in Flamingo, providing full diving equipment, guided dives, dive experiences (no experience necessary),dive courses and scenic transfers to and from your accomodation.We are happy to provide you with the largest diving boat in the area, so come and enjoy a unique experience with our team.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling with some bonus sights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went snorkeling off of Isla Catalina (Playa Flamingo) and had a fantastic experience. We traveled with our six and nine year-old children and the snorkeling guide would dive to the bottom to retrieve starfish, conch and sea urchin for us to hold. David, our guide, was fantastic with the six year-old and gave him one-on-one attention. Since it was the first snorkeling trip for both kids, it went a long way in making them feel comfortable.

We saw a lot of beautiful fish and one turtle while snorkeling. While on the boat going to dive spot #2, we had two dolphins swimming in front of the boat, racing us. We also saw two devil rays chase fish on top of the water, and one even came out and did a back flip in the air. We also saw a sea lion.

The weather was perfect, the length of time for the trip was great, and having two different spots to dive/snorkel was a nice surprise.

There were plenty of staff and we felt well cared for on the trip. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast D, Instructor at Pacific Coast Dive Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are so glad that you and your family had a good time on your trip with us. We hope you take back home good memories. Please come back and visit us if you return to Costa Rica!!

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    14
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I had week-long trip to Costa Rica and I can say that our dive with this outfit was great. We were taken care of every step of the way, signing up for the dive itself was easy at our hotel we did a half-day. two-dive package. Prices were reasonable. The rental equipment was top-notch and dive masters helpful and informative.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast D, Instructor at Pacific Coast Dive Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback we really appreciate it. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Come back when you need to blow some more bubbles!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent guides for new divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I are newly PADI certified. We have no delusions about being good divers at this stage. We announced our (low) skill-level to the guides at Pacific Coast, and they handled it like pros. We were part of a larger group (six divers), but they assigned Rachel (a rock star) to make sure we were doing alright and didn't fall behind the group. The gear was good quality (we brought nothing with us on our trip), the boat was comfortable on the trip to Las Catalinas, and they made sure everyone was okay and hydrated and full of snacks. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to do another day of diving. The only thing they need to improve is add more sizes of their cool T-shirts (and increased sales will innure to the shop's benefit).

By the way, if you've been certified in fairly rough conditions (e.g., Orange County, CA - cold water, limited vis), then you'll be thrilled by Costa Rica. The water was 79F, and the vis was about 30 feet. Tons of wildlife. Diving in these conditions is really pretty easy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast D, Instructor at Pacific Coast Dive Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for finding the time to write us a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your dives here with Pacific Coast. We always ask the divers when they check in how much experience they have so that we can try to allocate people into groups that suit their ability and have enough guides to ensure safety and enjoyment. This more often works in everyones favour as it obviously did in your case.

We are waiting on a shipment of t-shirts! Sorry to you and anyone else who have been disappointed with the limited number we have had recently!

Keep blowing bubbles

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Total pros.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pacific Coast Dive Center are a completely professional operation. Many dive shops let a lot of the formalities slip in the interests of being friendly but these guys maintain the quality and safety of service whilst managing to keep their customers happy, involved and diving safely.
The day we went out there was typically significant swell around the Catalina Islands but the Dive Masters and crew were experienced in ensuring that everyone from the experienced divers to the Open Water students entered and exited the water safely. The boat is large, well maintained and kitted out to support the dive operations and the crew have great methods of ensuring that equipment is properly sorted, stowed and well maintained. I rented all items from them and found all equipment to of great quality and well maintained. There's snacks between dives and time to relax on the top deck. I dove during November and incorrectly chose a 3mm shorty wetsuit. The water temperature was 24 degrees so ensure you have adequate exposure protection. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast D, Instructor at Pacific Coast Dive Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for finding the time to write us a review.
We try our utmost to remain professional and feel very strongly that safety is so important and rules and regulations need to be adhered to in order to make everyone have a safe but also fun experience.

Unfortunately the water and weather conditions are not always on our side and winds or thermoclines can take us by suprise! We are glad that you didnt get so cold that it ruined your experience.

Keep blowing bubbles!

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for First-Time Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I just finished a week-long trip to Costa Rica and I can say without hesitation that our dive with this outfit was the highlight.

Both of us are beginners, and we were taken care of every step of the way: training was straightforward, as was signing up for the dive itself. Prices were reasonable. The rental equipment was top-notch.

Both our in-pool instructor and divemaster spoke excellent English an were able to cleanly communicate what we were seeing, why we were diving in certain locations, and just generally made us feel that we were in very good hands. I'd recommend a half-day. two-dive package like we did to just about anyone.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast D, Instructor at Pacific Coast Dive Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are so glad that you had a great experience with us here at Pacific Coast. We feel its very important to be introduced into diving in the right way secure in the knowledge that you are safe and can enjoy the experience fully, a lot of this is achieved by good communication. Hopefully you will go on to dive again in the future!

Come back and visit us when you next come to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Coast Dive Center also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pacific Coast Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Coast Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.