We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventours CR - Private Tours & Shuttles

Adventours CR - Private Tours & Shuttles
Intersection between Flamingo and Potrero, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
+506 8709 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a family run business with years of proving to be your best choice to experience our beautiful region of Guanacaste! Our goal is to provide the most personalized experience to each of our guests, to share our knowledge about Costa Rica and to only offer high quality services on each of our outings. Lots of Nature, Adventure and Fun is waiting from you! I will answer your inquiries personally and most likely also be your personal guide on our trips! Looking forward to hearing from you, Jonas Rathenow (Owner)
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We had Jonas arrange two tours for us. The Canyon Combo in Rincon de la Viejo (ziplines, white-water rafting and horseback riding) and the Palo Verde boat tour (monkeys! crocodiles and the best lunch ever.). I started to communicate with Jonas a couple of weeks before our trip and everything was set up before we arrived in Costa Rica.

Jonas was friendly, extremely knowledgable and prompt. He pointed out some very interesting things along the drive. He also was able to give some good advice about the area, such as local customs and restaurants. I'm so glad he told us about the Mardi Gras parade through Playa Flamingo. What a bonus to watch that!

Jonas is very well-liked and has great connections to work with. These 5 crazy women in our 50s had a lot of fun with him! Thanks, Jonas!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Jonas is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We made Jonas' acquaintance 2 years ago and spent a fantastic day at Buena Vista with him. My son and Grandson were only in Costa Rica for a few days so this was the ideal way for them to pack a lot of stuff into one day. Jonas was very informative and knowledgeable and is one of the reasons why my husband and I fell in love with Costa Rica. We felt that we had made a good friend. We returned to Flamingo Beach last year and wanted to see more of the country so we immediately got in touch with Jonas. We booked a day trip to Arenal which was perfect and one that we'll always remember! Spending 4- 5 weeks in Costa Rica has become an annual thing so we returned this year. We wanted to do a combo ATV/ Zipline tour with my son and his girlfriend. Of course we called Jonas. Since he knows us and what type of things we like to do he steered us away from the local ATV and Congo Trail Zipline tour and booked a tour on a private ranch. The tour surpassed our expectations. There were only 4 of us on the ATV part of the tour and we road all over the ranch and got to see all kinds of terrain and animals. The guides for the 10 ziplines were great and lots of fun and we had the extra bonus of seeing Jonas again! We were in Costa Rica for 5 weeks and rented a car and as always Jonas was extremely helpful with supplying us with information about places to go and things to do. We can't say enough good things about Jonas. He's a good friend and we can't wait to see him again next year.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Tour Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Jonas attention to detail made every part of our trip and our tours truly memorable. Jonas will be the first call we make when planning our next visit to Costa Rica! We traveled with our family and he made sure all of us had the best experience ever and he is so informative about the culture that we really felt that we had also learned a great deal about the beautiful country of Costa Rica.
Next time we are going to Monteverde and Arenal - Jonas would be the only person we would call
Thanks for a great trip!
The Salnek Family

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Jonas lives up to all the reviews! He knows his stuff and makes the day effortless. We did 2 excursions, Palo Verde and Arenal Nature & Hot Springs and both were perfect opportunities to get to know Costa Rica.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Phenomenal guided experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We used Tripadvisor to help us find Jonas and I am so glad that we did. My sisters and I spent a peaceful, relaxing and belly laughing time in this beautiful country. We were able to appreciate the beauty of CR even more with Jonas' depth and breadth of nature, ecology, and respect and love for his home. We emailed Jonas while planning our trip...and he provided the rest of the planning. He made suggestions based upon our interests and he delivered far beyond our expectations. We had such a great first day with him going to Arenal and La Fortuna (waterfall, hotsprings, tasty "clean" food and good fun), that we asked if he would also take us on a river boat to really appreciate the balance of nature and beauty of CR. Jonas was well organized and prompt. He was entertaining, thoughtful and gracious. As a result of small groups, we were able to connect well with others on the tour and we truly felt blessed because Jonas took us off the beaten path, away from crowds. He was ever mindful of our desire to take pictures and he shared our enthusiasm when we had the chance to view wildlife we had never seen before. I am not exaggerating when I say that our experiences with Jonas truly enriched our vacation. Well done, Jonas. And thank you from your new Canadian friends

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventours CR - Private Tours & Shuttles also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
 
El Guapote, Tamarindo
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Adventours CR - Private Tours & Shuttles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventours CR - Private Tours & Shuttles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.