We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Stop Here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Las Olas

Restaurante Las Olas
Playas del Coco, Guanacaste. | A un Costado de Coconutz., Playas del Coco 1000, Costa Rica
+(506)26702003
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gotta Stop Here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Here on the Main Street we enjoyed a great meal. My husband and I had grilled catch of the day which was sea bass. My son enjoyed fettuccine Alfredo. This was topped off with coconut flan that was heavenly! Mmmmm the food around here is the best!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on a Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in Coco to attend Mass one Sunday in June. We ran into "AJ" who recommended that place for lunch. What a great suggestion! We were able to sit on the patio and feel the breeze. The seafood dishes that we had were wonderful as well as the drinks. Our friends joined us midway through the meal and the server gladly switched us to a larger table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best mahi mahi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant in Playas del Coco. Had the mahi mahi with the mango sause and it was great. The staff was friendly and accomodating (e.g., they did half of one of the pasta dishes for our young daughter, only charged half). Anna, our server, was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top five in Coco!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a week in Coco and tried a couple of restaurants. Las Olas was a good choice but a bit pricey for what it was.

I had the coconut shrimps and my brother ordered the red snapper. The plates looked great and the food was good. I expected a little more but would go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found this small curbside restaurant during our first stroll along the main street in Coco. We were tired and hungry after a long flight from Canada, and the menu exactly satisfied our needs -- tasty food and friendly service at a reasonable price. I enjoyed a generous serving of sea bass stuffed with seafood and my wife found the mixed ceviche and shrimp kabob superb. The final tab was slightly over $50 and the machine helpfully printed out the equivalents of 10% and 15% gratuities in CR colones, which was a handy assistance in our brain fatigued condition. We will definitely return to Las Olas and recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Olas also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Las Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.