We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Las Olas

Restaurante Las Olas
Playas del Coco, Guanacaste. | Costado Oeste de Farmacia Aloe, Playas del Coco 1000, Costa Rica
+506 2670 2003
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belen, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

when you drive by or look inside, this place looks like just another touristy resturant/beach bar with quirky decor. BUT the food is on a whole different level. Every thing was fresh local and over the top good. I ordered stuffed snapper and a seafood soup. I got a bowl of fresh shell fish with a whole steamed crab on top in a perfect broth. I ended using the bread to get all the broth it was soooooo good!.. 2 at our table ordered fresh fish stuffed w seafood, expecting the usual mushy stuffing, we were shocked to again see a huge pile of fresh clams. mussels, shrimp, oysters, squid & whole crabs on top of a perfectly grilled whole fish, Although, each could have easily fed two, we all did our part and ate every tasty bite. Only problem? No room for desert!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraARM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

There are so many good restaurants in this small town. It is a wonder that they can all flourish. Las Olas definitively flourishes. It is expensive but it will be some of the best seafood you have ever eaten. It is much better than anything in Atlanta Georgia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“our best dinner in Coco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The food was delicious. fresh fish, well prepared and served with many smiles by the friendly staff. And the sangria was the best on our trip by far. Highly recommended

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rrrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The place was recommended to me by the maid working at the place we stayed. We really liked the Mahi Mahi we got and the other items were pretty good too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teazea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here. I had a stuffed red snapper that was to die for, my wife had three lobster tails, and my son had a filet. Everything was spectacular! Try the mixed ceviche - you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Olas also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing