We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coco Palms to your Saves list
Hotel Coco Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Colton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dream Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our first nite that started a wonderful ten days driving down the coast line, and these folks help start it off great, was clean, the staff was happy and tried to help in any way we needed, thanks to all for a great send off, the town was fun as well pretty People

Room Tip: dont think it matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
45
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oromocto,NB
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our last 3 days in Costa Rica were spent in Playas del Coco. We had been backpacking so we thought we would splurge a little for our last few nights. This hotel has a great location. Close to the beach and main street but far enough away so the noise from the bars wasn't too loud. Beautiful pool, comfy bed. We had #37 & the fridge kept my beer nice & cold, ac was wonderful, and the safe was an added bonus. Huge balcony overlooking the pool. Staff were amazingly friendly & the ultimate selling point....24 hr convenience store just outside the main door. Amazing water pressure in the shower with actual hot water. Loved it!! Would definetly recommend this hotel. Reasonably priced, nice & clean.

Room Tip: #37 is an end room so you only have one room beside you. Your not sandwiched between 2 rooms, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently stayed 10 nights at this wounderful quaint place. Clean rooms, friendly staff, personal service and great location all combine to provide a unique 'local' experience you can't get in a mega resort. Kevin (he swears that's his real name) is always around and will know your favorite drink the first day your there, or he will create a new favorite for you. The owners (husband and wife) are very accessable and eager to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite different. Ask to see a number of them to find one you like best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The North American breakfast here is sure to make Canadians & Americans sing it's praises. I've lived in Coco for nearly 5 months, and there are a load of restaurants that do a American style Breakfast -- Most of whom are just, well-- crap. Not so at Coco Palms.

The Americano breakfast, has 3 pancakes, 2 eggs any style, choice of bacon, or pork sausage, and hash browns. All served on an outdoor patio, in the shade, with plenty of fans circulating air. It's about 10$ with a bottled Coke, but worth every penny.

Best I've had here in 5 months.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at Coco Palms 2 nights in Dec, while waiting for family to arrive. Was a good stay, comfortable room and decent breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice pool and patio.

We again were there for 2 nights at the end of our stay. The first night we were in a tiny upstairs room. Loud music from a private yard back of the hotel kept us up most of the night. Staff explained that it was a private party, not usual, and switched us to the much larger room downstairs. The next night was fine. I would not recommend the upstairs room for that reason. I am not sure how often this occurs, but we were not compensated for a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We wound up staying at the Hotel Coco Palms after Laura's Guest House refused to honor our reservation and deposit (see my review of Laura's for more on her reprehensible behavior). Coco Palms is an older hotel and the rooms show their age. But they are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great pool and patio which my kids really enjoyed. The location is great, both close to the beach and off the main (and quite noisy) drag. The owners are very helpful and gave us a great recommendation on a beach - Bahia Pez Vela, about a $10 cab ride away is much prettier than Playas del Coco, has a tiny fraction of the people and also offers decent snorkeling (you'll need to rent equipment in Coco). We were happy with the Hotel Coco Palms and I suspect you will be as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived at playa del coco in the afternoon looking for a place to stay that night. Upon our arrival we met Kevin, who I can't say enough nice things about. Not only did Kevin give us a great deal on a newly renovated room near the pool, he was an overall great guy. Hotel is really close to the beach and the bars/restaurant life. Fyi - playa del coco seems to get a little rough after dark, just use some common sense.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Palms

Address: Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Hotel
Hotel Coco Palms Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.