We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms

Save Saved
You added Hotel Coco Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coco Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Springboro, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently stayed 10 nights at this wounderful quaint place. Clean rooms, friendly staff, personal service and great location all combine to provide a unique 'local' experience you can't get in a mega resort. Kevin (he swears that's his real name) is always around and will know your favorite drink the first day your there, or he will create a new favorite for you. The owners (husband and wife) are very accessable and eager to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite different. Ask to see a number of them to find one you like best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
44
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The North American breakfast here is sure to make Canadians & Americans sing it's praises. I've lived in Coco for nearly 5 months, and there are a load of restaurants that do a American style Breakfast -- Most of whom are just, well-- crap. Not so at Coco Palms.

The Americano breakfast, has 3 pancakes, 2 eggs any style, choice of bacon, or pork sausage, and hash browns. All served on an outdoor patio, in the shade, with plenty of fans circulating air. It's about 10$ with a bottled Coke, but worth every penny.

Best I've had here in 5 months.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at Coco Palms 2 nights in Dec, while waiting for family to arrive. Was a good stay, comfortable room and decent breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice pool and patio.

We again were there for 2 nights at the end of our stay. The first night we were in a tiny upstairs room. Loud music from a private yard back of the hotel kept us up most of the night. Staff explained that it was a private party, not usual, and switched us to the much larger room downstairs. The next night was fine. I would not recommend the upstairs room for that reason. I am not sure how often this occurs, but we were not compensated for a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We wound up staying at the Hotel Coco Palms after Laura's Guest House refused to honor our reservation and deposit (see my review of Laura's for more on her reprehensible behavior). Coco Palms is an older hotel and the rooms show their age. But they are clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great pool and patio which my kids really enjoyed. The location is great, both close to the beach and off the main (and quite noisy) drag. The owners are very helpful and gave us a great recommendation on a beach - Bahia Pez Vela, about a $10 cab ride away is much prettier than Playas del Coco, has a tiny fraction of the people and also offers decent snorkeling (you'll need to rent equipment in Coco). We were happy with the Hotel Coco Palms and I suspect you will be as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Arrived at playa del coco in the afternoon looking for a place to stay that night. Upon our arrival we met Kevin, who I can't say enough nice things about. Not only did Kevin give us a great deal on a newly renovated room near the pool, he was an overall great guy. Hotel is really close to the beach and the bars/restaurant life. Fyi - playa del coco seems to get a little rough after dark, just use some common sense.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had business in Playa del Coco and arrived at Hotel Coco Palms looking for a couple of rooms. The staff was very friendly and located two perfect rooms to accommodate our business and comfort needs. The room was very comfortable right off the Patio/restaurant. The food was excellent and even cooked the Mai Mai we caught. We had a lot of stress involved in our business dealings and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Thank you again!
James and Jean

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It is only a block away from the beach. Near a small strip of restaurants, shops, and a supermarket. There's a convenience store adjacent to the hotel as well. The room was small but clean and had a tv, mini fridge, and free wifi. The pool was nice and the pool bar had good food. The hotel breakfast was good as well. The owner was very friendly and even told us about a private beach that the locals only know how to get to however we went to a different beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Palms

Address: Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Hotel
Hotel Coco Palms Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.