We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plugs a must” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms

Save Saved
You added Hotel Coco Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coco Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Playas del Coco
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ear plugs a must”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Dont stay here unless you are stone deaf or bring industrial strength ear plugs. The laughing, loud talking, and door banging echo all hours of the day and night,

It is a literal minute walk from the beach. Beach is so-so. Clean but the water brown with sand.

A short block to all the shops and places to eat.
Made sure you get gelato in the shop in the N. side of the mail street. The best I've ever had
Things much cheaper in Liberia than here.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room for the next night but were told they were all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
12
44
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place has charm and Costa Rican character. Prices are fair, the restaurant food is good and the staff is quite helpful. The rooms can be a little noisy due to the pool crowd and late restaurant crowd as well as its proximity to the town. However, it's centrally located if you plan on traveling anywhere else in the western part of the country. You'll have to walk down to Playa Ocotal or drive to Playa Hermosa for a good beach. The one down the block is kinda dirty. We were on the move everyday, so it didn't matter too much to us. This hotel tends to attract an older crowd, not the 20 year olds. The place is within walking distance to the town which is full of good eateries and lots of shops, if that's what you're looking for.

Room Tip: second floor away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This review is of both the hotel and the beach. This hotel is the nicest one in the area, i'll give it that. For the price and location, we got better/cleaner/nicer/fancier everywhere else in costa rica. Ablsolutely no reason to stay here.

The staff was nice enough, but for the price and location. Not worth it. I would simply stay away.

The reviews here seem to be confusing. I'm not sure where they stayed, nothing like what i experienced.

The beach is a locals beach filled with trash and stray dogs. Nothing nice about it.

We stayed at 7 different places over 10 days. This was the worst, and one of the priciest.

Room Tip: Dont go to this beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I went to Coco Costa Rica for Christmas and to see his father after him retiring there 26 years ago. We had no idea what to expect, especially seeing the small airport. We stayed 9 nights and I am ready to retire there, people are very nice, friendly, and extremly helpful. Never bothered or felt like they just wanted our money, actually just the opposite. They hooked us up with anything we needed and Great advise as to what tours and activities to do. The staff was Great, clean and knew by the second day what we wanted and when we would be down for coffee or drinks... Definately will be back and @ Hotel Coco Palms !!!!

Rod & Shelley
Orlando, FL.
Stayed: Dec. 16th - 25th, 2011

Room Tip: Room 51 was AWESOME, exactly like the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This trip was a surprise for my husband, being my first time selecting a locale and hotel, I was a bit hesitant!! I must say that it was awesome and my husband was very pleased with not only the hotel but the area as well. This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we could not have asked for a better experience. The hotel staff are all very pleasant and eager to please, very much about the service. Kelly at the front desk always had a smile and was ready for all of our questions. Caeser took great care of us most every morning at the restaurant, with a smile and great recommendations. We got the complimentary Costa Rican breakfast every day and it was awesome. We had to go grocery shopping to find the Lizano Salsa to bring home with us. The 2 barsclose by seem to compete to see who can play there music the loudest, so we did hear this every night, but we always seemed to doze off and get a restful nights sleep. The house keeping crew were very attentive, we always had clean sheets, towels, etc.The ac works great and it was nice to have a small refrigerator to stock up on water and of course a little Imperial Beer. Our only cons were that the water pressure was a little low and the internet was in and out during our stay. We had no trouble connecting if we were sitting outside our room (#9) or closer to the office area. They were working to improve connection while we were there. We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again. I would highly recommend Hotel Coco Palms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My friends and I had a great time during our 3 night stay here. The employees at the front desk and restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us set up tours (snorkeling, fishing) and even hung with us when they were done working. The rooms were just okay but the location can't be beat if you are looking for a place close to the beach and good nightlife. There are two popular bar/lounges around the corner. In fact, if you are looking for a peaceful night's sleep you may want to get a room in the back. Starting around 9pm we could hear the music pumping from the two lounges. It was loud enough that we thought it was coming from somewhere inside the hotel at first. We ate at the restaurant at least once a day and the food was excellent. There is also a grocery/liquor store in the hotel which is extremely convenient. The only real negatives for me were that the shower water was rarely warm and the room we were in smelled heavily like cigarette smoke. Even so, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel if you don't want to hear club music at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This place has everything you need and extras. John the owner and the entire staff really knows how to take care of you. The room we had was spacious and the included costa ricin breakfast with complimentary coffe was a great start to our days. The swimming pool is gorgeous and you feel real secure with the 24 hr guard out front. The restaurant is very good and has the best sushi in town. Did I mention FREE calls to the US! The property is about 100 yards from the beach and a block or two from the bars and restaurants. Music from the bars can get a little loud if you are a light sleeper. The guard watches over your parked car out front. Let me emphasize the point that we never felt at risk in the whole town. It is very safe we felt. There is also a 24 hr market next door that is real convenient. Thanks again to John, Savanah, Patty and Kevin at the restaurant. We booked a room for one night and ended up staying for 9 because it was so nice and the location was great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Coco Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coco Palms

Address: Downtown Coco | across from Soccer Field, off the Beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coco Palms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Coco Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palms Hotel
Hotel Coco Palms Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.