We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chantel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Chantel to your Saves list
Hotel Chantel
Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Don't miss out $79
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Staying a beautiful three nights at the immaculate Hotel Chantel in Playas Del Coco made my trip to Costa Rica an experience I will never forget. The stunning Mediterranean decor along with the location high-up in the hills designed an atmosphere for a king and queen! Our view was breathtaking overlooking the town and stunning beach, not to mention the sunsets were magical! The warm welcoming staff ensured the highest quality service and made me feel extremely appreciated! It was hard to leave this 5 star staff and hotel - I will be sure to come back and visit!
In addition, the restaurant located at the top of the building - The Lookout - complemented my experience greatly for view and food was to die for!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Chantel the night before we departed since it is only a 20 min ride to the Liberia Airport. The owner, Anita and her staff were so friendly and accommodating, it was so nice having them take care of us, they make you feel like family. The king size bed was so comfortable and the shower was great, after spending the better part of a week in another hotel that did not have a nice shower or comfortable beds, we were very appreciative. The view is spectacular and you are a very short cab ride from the town, plus the hotel restaurant is magnificent. Highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I always recommend staying in Hotel Chantel.. It is very well taken care of and well thought out offering great comfort and service. The owners really bend over backwards in trying to make your stay a unique one while in coco.. The views are spectacular!! The breakfast is as typical as it can get and the restaurant/bar upstairs (lookout) is great! Definitely consider staying here when visiting coco!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here from July 31 - August 3. To make the reservation was easy. ..it was all done by email and the response from Anita was alway prompt. We reserved a studio at first thinking there was a mini fridge to store wine and beer. Anita advised me that room doesn't have a fridge but she would let us have the one with a mini kitchen for the same price. Upon arrival the room we were scheduled to occupy had a problem so we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. It was amazing. Full kitchen, separate bedroom and great decor. The view was just breathtaking, just like the photos online. You are high upon a hill with the Pacific Ocean in the distance.
Jamie the manager was very engaging. He informed us of all we could do and see in the area as well as a history of Costa Rica. Breakfast was held each morning in the open air restaurant area on the top floor of the hotel. Drinking coffee, eating and admiring the view....priceless and unforgettable.
If we are ever in Costa Rica again, this would be our place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor next to the pool. Any room is good. They all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, rooms, superb staff who treat you like family. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel bosts a lovely roof top bar, lounge and restaurant with views to die for, right across the bay.
The location is a long walk into town (don't do it in the afternoons when it's very hot!), but if you pace yourself, it's downhill and there are beautiful flora and birds to see, and even iguanas lazing in trees en route if you're lucky.
The pool is more of a dipping pool and other than been a few km out of town, is the only thing which I would have liked to change - pity it's not bigger.
Being out of town has the great advantage of being off the noisy run near the bars and so the hotel is a haven of tranquility.
The official website photos are the only ones I've ever seen which truly depict a hotel. The views are as good as they show and the rooms, spotlessly clean, bright and well furnished.
Beds are incredibly comfy and the coffee and breakfasts are very tasty and incredibly fresh.
Rich Coast diving will pick up (and sometimes drop off) scuba or snorkelling enthusiasts at the hotel.
This is a hidden gem of a boutique hotel - quite unique in the area and regarded by many locals as the best in Coco. Good value too!
The owners deserve to do well. Hats off to Anita and her team!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in may with a few friends. Although it's a short and cheap taxi ride to downtown coco beach, it is most definitely worth it. The view is beautiful and relaxing an the pool is the perfect size for cooking off. The rooms are perfect size and the bathrooms are huge! It's a very quiet hotel and the staff is amazing. Anything you need there is always someone there for you. The complimentary breakfast is still something I crave. I had forgotten my camera in the safe and didn't realize it until I got back to Canada. They were great to keep in contact with and helped get it back to me. One of the owners was making a trip to Canada and personally brought it to Canada for me. I would recommend anyone to stay at hotel Chantal and if you have a chance stay in the penthouse suite...it's unreal!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just returned from Costa Rica yesterday. My friends and I stayed there for about 4-5 days in celebration of one's birthday. We had an awesome time! We stayed at Hotel Chantel. At first, we were weary about our destination when the cab driver turned onto a rocky, not very scenic, dirt road, which later became paved and winding... but once we arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised! It was very clean and well kept. The view was breathtaking as you have an amazing landscape and oceanview. The pool was small but perfect for the group we went with. I would highly recommend this hotel. The room we booked had a problem with the air conditioning, but Anita was more than happy to accommodate us to work out our needs as she provided us with an extra room to use as we wish. Hopefully, that room's A/C will be fixed because it was awesome, with a full kitchen and living area. The staff was very pleasant - always smiling and very accommodating. Hope you have as great a time as we did when you visit Costa Rica and Hotel Chantel!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean view! So close your eyes, and choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chantel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chantel

Address: Vista Marina, Playas del Coco 10002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chantel is a unique Ocean View Boutique Hotel overlooking Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. The property is located along the country’s beautiful Northern Pacific coastline and yields breathtaking panoramic ocean views of Playas del Coco as well as the surrounding rain forest.Playas del Coco is a very popular area for all tours, sport fishing, Playas del Coco is known as well as the gateway for surfers, this beach is a prime scuba diving spot. There is also plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, discos, casinos.Playas del Coco also has day and sunset cruises, rainforest canopy and zip-line tours, hot springs, and day tours to sea turtle nesting areas and inland volcanoes all within 45 minutes to a `couple hours drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chantel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chantel Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chantel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.