We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find but worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Farola

Restaurante La Farola
Urbanizacion Las Palmas, de la entrada principal 10 m. Este y 25 m. Sur, Playas del Coco ., Costa Rica
2670 0894
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Abierto de 5pm a 10pm de Lunes a Sabado. Domingos cerrado. Open from 5pm to 10pm Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed.
Coldwater, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hard to find but worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

we were intrigued by the good comments on the Sangria. We ordered a liter and the comments were true. Started out with a house salad with sea bass and an orange reduction dressing. GREAT! We were not that hungry so we split a steak dinner. The steak was thin cut, battered and fried. Unique and good. DIRECTIONS! Take the main street into Coco and turn right at the Lizard bar near the beach. Drive about a mile and look for a large anchor in front of a development on the right turn right &. take a right on the first street and La Farola will be on the left.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    12
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We highly recommend this new restaurant. The portions are large so be careful. We are going back and ordering the sea bass salad and octopus. They were so helpful because I have food allergies. Carlos, the son of the chef, made us feel at home. It is northern Spanish food. Romantic.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, expected better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We heard great things about the food, the service even the ambience and we went with six friends hoping for a real Spanish dinner. The bill was completely outrageous given that they charged over $100 for "lobster paella", then divided one lobster among six people and I got a miniscule piece and an empty bit of the shell. The paella was an unappetizing color, a bit bland and bore no resemblance to anything in Europe.
Everyone raved about the Sangria but to me it tasted like box wine and had no fruit.
Dinner took almost an hour to arrive but it was fine since were all talking and enjoying the ime together. A bit of bread or starter would have been nice. All in all, a ripoff and reminded me of the pretentious restaurants in the states with fake french waiters and overpriced food. Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Desde el Restaurante La Farola queremos avisar que estamos siendo víctimas de una oleada de OPINIONES FALSAS con el único propósito de intentar hacer daño a nuestro negocio. Lamentamos mucho esta situación y entendemos que dicho esto no debemos prestar más atención a este tipo de comentarios. Gracias por su comprensión.

From the direction of "Restaurante La Farola" we want to advise that we are being victims of FAKE OPINIONS with the sole purpose of damaging our restaurant. We deeply lament this situation and think that it is better not to pay attention to this kind of comments. Thanks for your understanding.

Carlos Viloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Thank God for tripadvisor as I have been coming to Coco Bay for several years now and have struggled with decent food. This trip I checked out the site and the last 3 nights had great meals and all 3 were winners. The ambiance is very nice but we preferred a table outside as the weather was perfect and it was very peaceful outside. We started with the Gazpacho which was not only a generous serving but the flavors were delicious as was the presentation (I know it's soup but you will see if you order it). For our entree we had the Baby Squid and I had the Sea Bass salad. Both were excellent. Don't pass up the Lemon Mousse as it was also an explosion of delicious flavors not to be missed. Our server was Hilmar and he was attentive and delightful. We will definitely be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the experience and we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards.

Carlos Viloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“One of the best meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We walked by this place several times and finally went tonight. It was wonderful! Started out with the best sangria ever- it tastes of cinnamon, and had apples, orange juice, and cognac. Delicious! Chef sent us a tapas of thinly sliced bread and a salsa that contained, along with the usual, octopus and finely chopped egg. It was wonderful. Then, fruit and cheese salad with walnuts and fresh baguette bread. For entrees, we had grilled chicken, lobster tail, and catch of the day, sea bass. The chicken came with salad, thin crisp fried potatoes. Lobster was large and tender, and the grilled sea bass was two big pieces that were grilled perfectly. We split a giant size piece of chocolate cake with warm chocolate sauce, strawberries, and whipped cream. Our service was perfect - friendly and attentive, and the chef and her son came out at the end to ask how everything thing was, and they couldn't have been nicer. We had a great experience from start to finish. I highly recommend this as a great place for a lovely meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for coming and spend this past evening with us. This will always be your house. It is a pleasure to meet people as good as you are. And also you are a dachshund lover!!
It was an beautiful experience for us too.
Best regards.

Carlos Viloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Farola also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante La Farola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Farola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.