We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best dining experiences!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Farola

Restaurante La Farola
Urbanizacion Las Palmas, de la entrada principal 10 m. Este y 25 m. Sur, Playas del Coco ., Costa Rica
+506 2670 0894
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Abierto de 5pm a 10pm de Lunes a Sabado. Domingos cerrado. Open from 5pm to 10pm Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed.
Playa Hermosa, Cartago, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my best dining experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a wonderful dinner we had tonight at La Farola! My husband and I live in the area and are always looking for new places to dine. We went to La Farola tonight with good friends and are so happy that we did. This family owned restaurant is pretty new, having opened in May 2013. The owners came from Spain and are serving up traditional Spanish meals. They have imported most of the decorations and serving pieces from Spain. Incredible service was given by Daniel, one of the sons of the chef/owner who also came to our table to make sure that we enjoyed her cooking. The sangria was the best that I have had and we are looking forward to a return visit and ordering the lobster paella (word of caution - if you want paella and are somewhat in a hurry it is best to call ahead and order as it takes 45 minutes to prepare) and spending another relaxing evening. They strive to make you feel as if you are part of their family!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment, and also about the Paella information.
We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    6
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Absolutely Increadable Spanish Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This family owned restaurant almost makes you forget you are in Costa Rica as you step into this straight from Europe affair. The building, the design, the furniture are all well thought out and not held back. It is clear this was the dream of the mother and sons to cross the Atlantic and settle in the right place to share their special dining experience with others. The food is prepared in a very traditional way and will great care, passion and love. You feel so welcomed, almost as though you are friends of the family and the mother wants to prepare a wonderful meal. Prices are more then reasonable and not out of step with other restaurants in the area.

It was really quiet an experience! Especially great for those living in Las Palmas who can easily walk to it. Playas del Coco is lucky to have this establishment. Too bad I am at the end of the vacation but will definitely plan to visit more often when I return to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
The pleasure has been all our.
We are really gratefull about your comment. Make you feel part of our family is one of our goals. We are glad to know that we did it with you.
Thanks again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to have dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went here for dinner with friends. We all left very satisfied. The service was very attentive. The sangria is delicious. The food was pretty good. The ambiance is elegant. This restaurant is a great addition to Playas del Coco.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Spanish restaurant - Best service in Coco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a local jewel! The restaurant is owned and managed by a kind and loving spanish family. The service is definitely the best in the area, they are so welcoming and thoughtful and can accommodate ANY request ( I'm a very picky pregnant vegetarian!)
There's a wide variety of food for every taste and price range.
This is one place you shouldn't miss when you visit our town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is easy for us with customers like you.
As you know we like to make your desires come true.
We really appreciate all the time that you shared with us.
Thanks again and we all hope to see you back soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Finally a more formal dining place in Playa del Coco for fat wallets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been to Spain many times. I know it's simple cuisine that calls for perfect ingredients. When tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers are just picked all you need is a little salt, pepper and olive oil. This is what Spanish cuisine is all about. In Costa Rica it is a bit tricky. Tomatoes are usually unripe, cucumbers are tasteless and there is only one or 2 kinds. That makes it hard to produce the same dishes as in Spain. I have nothing bad to say about the execution. Calamari are cooked to perfection. Gaspacho and Salmorejo are excellent. The main dish and salad are meh, but only because of the ingredients as I mentioned earlier. Now as far as value goes. Living here for a year I know how overpriced everything in Playa del Coco is and I understand the groceries themselves cost a lot more than they should, but still. $53 pp is way too much for a meal that we had. I would return to try their paella, but I seriously hope they import their rice and do not use Costa Rican rice that is fortified with a whole bunch of chemicals by law. I recommend to try this place if money is no object. The ambiance and service are perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A V, Propietario at Restaurante La Farola, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for leave your comment.
We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Farola also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante La Farola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Farola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.