We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer here, gone!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Cabana - CLOSED

Coco Cabana
Across from Pacifico next to Luperon, Playas del Coco 50503-5019, Costa Rica
+(506)2670-0505
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Costa Rican, Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner
Description: We open at 9 am to 10 pm, nice atmosphere, open and clean and amazing food.
London, ON Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“No longer here, gone!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is no longer here. A new restaurant opened up in the same location. I returned this year to find a new restaurant at this location under a new name....but I have not tried the new one. I wish trip advisor would keep better tabs on restaurants that close.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    10
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is closed. Somebody from Tripadvisor should remove it from the Restaurant list. It is actually another Restaurant now!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is a different place now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The restaurant reopened in June. It has a completely new menu. The menu sounds very interesting and it's super eclectic. They have everything from middle eastern and Mediterranean to Ecuadorian. The portions however are very small and to not correspond with the price. The plating is nice but not overly fancy to command that kind of price especially in a wooden open air shack. I would have no issues with the place if it were twice as cheap. To judge for yourself look at the picture of the gazpacho I posted. It is served in a hollowed out cucumber(it should have at least been a giant tomato).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good and a nice change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have lived in Coco for over a year now and this place was a GREAT change from other "tipico" food. However, I ate there in January and shortly there after it has closed. But . . . I have noticed that there are some large "parties" going on. is this place still open? The signs have been taken down! Thanks!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great clean open air restaurant with excellent healthy food. The service is very good and the facility itself is well made and comfortable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Cabana also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.