We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barack Obama was our waiter!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Lobster

Pacific Lobster
Frente a Hotel, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Barack Obama was our waiter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Serious, our waiter was the doppelganger of the POTUS. Jose, said he is told that all the time.He was extremely friendly and attentive.

The food was good. We both had a fish dish and it was properly prepared. There was a nice view of the street from above.

I'd go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    13
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a party of ten and the service was excellent. There was one person in our group who is very hard to please and the waiters were patient with him beyond what I have seen at other places. I went back 2 more times with other friends. The mahi mahi with ginger sauce was delicious....I had it twice, but then I ordered the blackened tuna and it was equally as good. The drinks were pricey but then the price of liquor in the grocery stores is through the roof in Costa Rica! Great place to eat off the dusty roadway....I loved it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

They have a hustler downstairs, who solicit you to eat in the restaurant. He promised us a free wine glass and a drink for each of us.
When we went upstairs, we were pushed for a full bottle of wine and offered no promised drinks.

Food was good. Prices were little high, a glass of Mojito cost $8. A beer bottle, $6.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We both had lobster and it was just OK. Not worth the price of 44. The service was good. Next store the lobster was 20.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Salty Food and No Appology”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We ate at this restaurant a few days ago. We feel the cook of this restaurant does not pay much attention to quality of food. I ordered Jumbo Shrimp dinner with garlic and butter flavor and Cajon rice and it was so salty I complained that to waitress. She did not show any sympathy and quickly said if I want to finish the dinner. Normally in the US, they will come to the customer and ask how the food is to make sure we enjoy the dinner. But is this the Costa Rican custom that once they serve the food they don't want to know if the food taste OK or not? Anyway, I wondered if they used day old food to preserve the food in that way to add extra salt? But most of my complaint was for the price we paid, the food was mediocre, nothing special and they should concentrate on a quality of the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Lobster also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pacific Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.