We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Casa Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Casa Blanca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A slice of Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Costa Rica and stayed three nights at the Hotel Villa Casablanca. We were looking for authentic Costa Rican accomodations, not the big all inclusive type beach resorts and we found it! We discovered soon after our arrival that the hotel had changed hands only five days before. The new owners from Spain could not have been nicer or more willing to please. It is a very pleasant place with a broad covered balcony for eating (breakfast is inlcluded and you can arrange for other meals as well although it is very basic fare) where you are greeted each morning by three green parrots chattering away. We chose an oceanview suite and were amazed at the size and coolness with a very good air conditioning system. The beach is just a short walk away and is a much quieter black beach than otheres in the area. There is a very nice restaurant, Father Roosters, at the beach. The town and beach of CoCo are just a few miles away with lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel also has a sweet small pool and some beautiful grounds. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Villa Casablanca. We felt like we were staying in someone's lovely home!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lometa, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Casa Blanca felt like home...well...home + a veranda with a beautiful ocean view and a parrot named Suzie that we taught to say "Red Raiders". We stayed in a suite with the kids in a separate room. The breakfasts were wonderful. We mingled with the other guests from Canada and Costa Rica and felt part of an extended family. Modesta the owner and Coach were great. We will certainly return to our hidden gym. Hopefully the new owners will be just as accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If one must go to the Coco area, this is a great choice especially if one has a car. Hotel is funky but great. Especially recommended are the two front Suites--other rooms are small. We found hotel by driving around. Planned on staying one night but stayed for three. great tropic atmosphere but it is an oasis in an expensive over-rated country. Gabriel the manager is very nice and helpful. Fortunately the hotel does not advertise and in high season was actually quite empty. Ideal.

Room Tip: 11 and 14 upfront. A slight premium but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

awesome Place, awesome House, attentive Stuff! We had a wonderful time at this romantic place!the 3 parrots on the terrace are very entertaining. Thank you very much for everything!we'll come back!
Ronald and Grit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although this is called a hotel, don't let the name fool you. It is a bed and breakfast. There is NO staff on in the evenings at all so make sure you have your plans covered. The inn is clean although slightly aging and the staff are nice. Coach will make you feel right at home as he greets you topless with a big grin. Welcome! The place is about a 10 minute walk to the beach in a lovely gated community and is also about a 10 minute drive to town. The breakfast that is included is excellent and the servers/room attendants are very nice.

The pool is clean, but if you are a weaker swimmer, be careful...the shallow end drops off to the deep end very quickly.

I rated the restaurant very good (only breakfast) because the value of the breakfast is exceptional. Also they don't mind you using the kitchen to prepare your own food (bonus!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and nice, it gave the sense of a family oriented atmosphere
The staff at the hotel is nice, friendly and willing to help; they provided us with useful tips like the ability of guests to make use of the excellent Beach Club in Playa Ocotal.
I enjoyed my visit and look forward to staying there again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Hotel Villa Casa Blanca is a charming boutique hotel situated a few hundred metres from the picturesque Playa Ocotal. The rooms are tastefully decorated, though not overly large, but clean and cool.
The covered ocean view terrace provided a great location for the generous and tasty breakfast, monitored by three watchful green parrots. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, giving useful tips like the ability of guests to make use of the excellent Beach Club in Playa Ocotal.
Travellers without a car might find it a handicap staying here especially in the evening as Playa Ocotal is a very quiet location without nightlife, apart from one excellent beach restaurant called Father Rooster. However, guests can use the communal kitchen in the 'rancho' of Villa Blanca to make simple meals.
If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway this is your place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Casa Blanca

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Casa Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca Hotel
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Casa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.