We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family, but better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Casa Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Casa Blanca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like staying with family, but better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Modesta saved our vacation! Our travel agent sent us somewhere else, which was terrible. A local man called Modesta, who made accommodations for us on a moments notice. The room was clean, cool, and away from the party noise of Playas del Coco. We loved Fatima's and Letti's breakfasts of eggs or french toast, fresh fruit, and gallo pinto (wonderful rice and beans). Loved the veranda for breakfasts and chatting. It was fun to compare adventures with other guests. The outdoor kitchen allowed me to conserve money by eating in, but restaurants were within walking distance. The hotel at the pool was the right size and within sight so I could still watch my kids while fixing lunch or dinner. My daughter especially got a kick out of the bar stools in the pool next to the kitchen. Casa Blanca has agreements with 3 other nearby pools, two are right on Ocotal beach. The third pool has an adjacent workout room. Although, there is no need to work out in a gym if one chooses to "walk the ridge" with Coach Danny in the morning. Great workout and beautiful views of Papagayo bay! The gardens around Casa Blanca are beautiful even in the dry season. Modesta and her staff are excellent hosts, helping arrange or give directions for tours or local (free) attractions. Modesta even shared her aloe plant with my son when he refused my efforts to apply sunscreen. The girls provided laundry service for a modest fee. We left our laundry in bags outside the door and found them clean, sorted, and folded when we returned. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I have recommended this hotel to others and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Casa Blanca is a true beauty off the beaten path and very boutique like! A unique Costa Rican experience surrounded by luscious nature and a pleasurable stay from start to finish! Delicious fruit, pancakes and coffee in the morning accompanied by the birds and a stunning view. Loved walking to Ocotal Beach and of course the tres lux exclusive Beach club. Sincerely the best hospitality ever- thanks for a wonderful stay and fabulous time! See you again very Soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My sister and I took our teenage kids to Villa Casa Blanca for a week's vacation. It was a great place for us. Modesta and Nestor were excellent hosts, helping us arrange tours, get taxis, and improve our Spanish. They also are just generally nice, fun folks. We liked the small size of the hotel. We felt like we were staying among friends and family, and not overrun by a bunch of others at a big resort. The breakfasts were substantial, not just a little fruit and toast. Our kids need a big breakfast to keep them going and Fatima and Letti made us food to carry us through our adventures. The rooms were were nicely kept, very clean, and comfortable, including AC. The beach and the club house nearby were a big hit with the kids - lots of swimming options, and abundant wildlife to explore. We would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in them, but there are a few larger rooms if you want more of a suite option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Everyone at the Villa Casa Blanca is wonderful! Love the view from the covered breakfast patio, and really appreciated the use of the open-air kitchen. What a way to have folks get to know each other (if they want to - you can certainly 'choose' your level of social interaction...).
The parrots are a special addition. Breakfasts are ample and good, rooms are comfortable and clean. Their pool is small and 'cool', but great for kids to have fun in. The Coco-club pool just a short walk away is elegant and 'deluxe', and includes a fabulous view and lots of loungers.
The beach is safe and very interesting, with black sand (will get super-hot!) and clear water for snorkeling and exploring around the volcanic rocks at the 2 ends of the little bay (part of the larger Papagayo bay, so waves are not big here.
My son and I really enjoyed spending the last few days of our trip to C.R. at the Villa Casa Blanca!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and options, and so of course, in price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We went to costa rica for my 7oth b-day it was the most amazing b-day of my life.Tom was very helpful and casa blanca was a very nice place to stay already planning to go again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful time in playa del coco and at villas casa Blanca. Modesta is so friendly, makes you feel like family. The parrots are a hoot!! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The owners are trying to sell this hotel, which would be a good thing - with the right care and upkeep, it could be an absolute gem!

While the service is very good, the property itself suffers in the meantime. We had a honeymoon suite, which it turned out was far worse of a room than the others down on the first floor. A little dirty, very dingy, and less-nicely appointed than the lower-floor rooms. We were the only guests there, so breakfast was not very impressive.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the very nice regular rooms, not a honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Casa Blanca

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Casa Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca Hotel
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Casa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.