We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cozy hotel close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Coco Beach Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$65 (USD)
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice cozy hotel close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at Coco Beach in early July and the hotel and staff were awesome. The food is great and the service is very good.
Mariela and Erick at the front desk were great and helped when asked ( with a smile )
Luis was great at arranging tours
It is a five minute walk to the beach and within close walking distance to the shops, other cafe's and the supermarket.
A WONDERFUL COZY HOTEL WITH GREAT SERVICE. Worth every penny spent !!!!

Brian

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Brian R ,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations… We are glad to hear that our staff helped efficiency and great service.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    32
    3
    10
See reviews for
19
49
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed here from June 30th, 2014 to Jul 7th 2014. The staff was always very friendly, accommodating, polite & personable. Most of them speak english almost fluently. They were always happy to help if we had questions or needed advice. This is not a resort which was even better. Our rooms and the entire vicinity was always clean and well kept. It's a beautiful cozy little hotel smack dab in the middle of town and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. As far as non resort hotels in Coco Beach go, I'd have to say this is probably the nicest! I could go on and on about the hotel, but I think I'll end with the hotel manager...We only ever got one person's name which was Luis one of the concierge's (Not a fan) but the hotel manager, we saw him almost every day and not just at the hotel, in the local shops and restaurants. He always said hi and made sure we had everything we needed and made sure we were always taken care of.
Thank you to the staff of Coco Beach hotel for being part of our best vacation so far!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105. It was somewhat close to the lobby and far enough from the casino. The only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Hishoelle , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel . We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Do not stay here if you are traveling with anything of value. The safe malfunctioned upon our arrival. Their repair man picked the lock to reset it, but it still didn't work. We considered locking valuables in our car, but the hotel parking was open to the main street and another car in the lot had its back window smashed in, so we opted to put the camera in a nightstand drawer while we were snorkeling and hid other valuables elsewhere. The camera was stolen from the room by staff. We notified the manager the day it disappeared but he was incapable of recovering it. We gave him 24 hours to interview staff and return the camera, but he only gave us excuses and said it was not there. The camera was expensive, but replaceable. The pictures of our daughter's first siting of a two-toed sloth, her captivation with the playful behavior of wild monkeys in trees overhead, her face lit up by the joy of having a hummingbird land on her finger - these images and many more are irreplaceable. They were on the memory chip stolen with the camera. Please do not reward the blatant dishonesty of this hotel with your business or your valuable belongings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Virginia , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. …As you might have read in some of our responses or reviews, we are under new management and these problems you mentioned have been brought to attention. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par .
We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playas del Coco hotels

2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

el lugar es muy comodo y sobre todo muy bonito. El restaurante tiene buena seleccion de comida y contiene una bar para unas bebidas ricas. El servicio fue muy agradable.
This place is very small and cozy. It has a restaurant with great food and a bar with awesome drinks. The staff/service was very friendly.

Room Tip: El lugar esta cerca de la playa y tambien tiene una piscina, ay lugares para baile a caminadas. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Google Translation
Saludos Patty P,

Es un gusto escuchar que tuvo una excelente estadía .
Apreciamos sus comentarios .Esperamos que nos viste próximamente .

Muchas Gracias por escoger Coco Beach para sus vacaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter (17) in March.
Was ok, not super, not bad. Clean, comfortable, great price. A little noisy, but not bad at night.
Staff was helpful. Atmosphere was relaxed.
Pick a room at the end away from the casino for more privacy and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias Clay N, por tomarse el tiempo para comentar sobre su estadía con nosotros. Apreciamos recibir noticias de nuestros clientes, ya que sus comentarios son vitales para nosotros para seguir mejorando nuestros alojamientos. Pedimos disculpas por las molestias que tuvo durante su estadia. Gracias de nuevo por sus comentarios. Esperamos que usted nos dará otra oportunidad de servirle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I came to town, and needed a place to stay while we searched for an apartment to rent. We found this quaint, relaxing hotel, and fell in love!

The staff is amazingly friendly, and very helpful regarding where to go in town, and where one should stay away from.

I truly recommend this place to weary travelers, or anyone who needs to just "get away" and relax There is no better place in town, than this hotel and you won't break the bank by staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Rebeca , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel. There were more issues with the room/hotel this time around.

Negatives: 1. I had issues with air conditioner my first stay. There is still a problem with air conditioner, it just does not cool enough. I was told not to lower the unit past a certain point or pipes would freeze and it would not cool at all. I say temperature averaged 77 to 80..I expected temperature a little cooler. 2. The main entrance (nice entrance) was closed and you now have to enter/check in by pool/restaurant area. Let me say that if you come back to hotel after restaurant/bar/pool closes you could trip into pool due to stone pavers that surround the pool. Also the walk to the rooms is a long zig zag, where before there was a nice ramp to main lobby at middle of hotel. 3. Bathroom shower was leaky and the parts were on order per maintenance guy...heard water dripping in bathroom all week. Also toilet would get stuck and not flush..had to open lid and pull lever....This happened about 5 times - Bathrooms need some TLC. 4. Price was average since it was easter week, I was disappointed that they offered last minute deals that were cosiderably lower then what i recd and they would not honor..they did include a continental for free to make up.

Positives: 1. The rooms are clean. 2. The staff is friendly. 3. You can't beat the location. 4. The food was good and they will cook your catch for free.

I would stay here again but issues above need to be addressed.

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Ronnie M , thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at Coco Beach Hotel. We know our shortcomings and we're working to bring the property up to par . We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.
Hopefully if we get a chance to serve you again it will be as you expect it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Hotel and Casino

Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Coco Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Coco Beach Hotel And Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.