We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencia agradable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Beach Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Coco Beach Hotel and Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Allschwil, Switzerland
1 review
“Experiencia agradable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here at this hotel. Friendly staff, big rooms (king size bed) and a very nice pool (open 24 hours for a midnight swim) with a bar. The hotel is located in the middle of Playa del Coco. Restaurants and bars directly next to the hotel. Only a 5 minute-walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    64
    35
    3
    11
See reviews for
20
54
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's just a few minutes walk to the beach and close to restaurants, bars, shops, anything you need. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. They have a nice pool/lounge area - and the pool changes colors at night! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Good location, good value. Great trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days in January 2013. Enjoyed the hotel and it's pool. It was as centrally located as you can get if you want to be in the middle of the action! It was fiesta weekend when we stayed so there was some street partying going on till 3:00am. The room was reasonably quiet considering the party outside on the main street. The included breakfast was nice. Rooms were clean and the pool area was nice to lounge around. Staff were very friendly and attentive.
Only a 1 block walk to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The beds were very comfy, but the room could have been cleaner as the shower had mold and the floor felt gritty. The staff was excellent, very helpful. It was right in the middle of town, so if you are one for bar hopping, it would be quite convenient. overall I think this place is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My mom and I just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights Jan. 18 and 19th. We were soposed to rent a jungle house in Verde Misterioso in Coco, but it was a dump, so we needed another place to stay. I heard that there are very few hotels in Coco beach with pools, and being 90 degrees every day, we needed a pool, so the Coco beach hotel worked out fine for us. We paid $265 for the 2 nights and we had a room on the second floor which had a fridge, which we needed. The room was nothing special, but it was clean and in a great location close to shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful (they helped us carry tons of our luggage up to our room and packed in in our car when we left!) That was very nice. I couldn't get internet in my room on my computer, but I heard you can get it better in the lobby. The people in the restaurant were also very nice; they even re-heated up our food (from the papagayo restaurant across the street, which has amazing food by the way!) I'm a travel writer and I stay at lots of hotels, and I must say, they were very friendly and accomodating. Coco Beach is a big, noisy party area, so if you are looking for peace and quiet, do not stay there. It was quiet when we stayed over on the Friday night, but Saturday night, we could hear the dance music playing from nearby clubs late into the night, but that's not the hotel's fault, it's just in that area.
Overall, we would recommend the coco beach hotel. The pool is lovely and we really liked the lounge cabanas which were great to relax in. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, you need a room on the 2nd floor, the first level rooms do not have fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

They charged me $113 a night during the week in the slow season. The place is clean but no where near worth that price. I could have rented any 2 bedroom condo in Las Palmas for $40 less a night. Good staff, but it is an acerage hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We saw the Coco Beach Hotel sign as we drove into town with their four star 'rating.' So when we got into town and saw that the hotel was appealing from the outside we checked in for the night. The room is a good size, clean, and the bed was comfortable enough. Don't expect any frills or luxury - the bath towels are super tiny, and there are no hand towels. We could only get Wifi in our room if we pressed our phones/tablets against the window.

We stayed in the rooms west of the reception desk, which is not where you want to be. These rooms are by the restaurant, and the restaurant plays loud music until late night and then starts up again first thing in the morning. We were also on the bottom floor, where a staff member would walk past our room every few minutes (this must be the path to the supply room or something). Thin walls, music and foot traffic don't lend themselves to a very peaceful night's sleep. If you do stay here I would request a second floor room to the east of the reception desk.

Oh, breakfast is included, and I hear it is pretty good. But we wouldn't know - the receptionist didn't say what time it ended - we ended up at the restaurant at 10:10 am to find that the 'included' breakfast is only served until 10 am. I thought that was pretty early to end breakfast, and the waiter

Room Tip: Second floor to the east of the reception area. Don't stay by the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Hotel and Casino

Address: Main St., Playas del Coco, Costa Rica (Formerly Coco Verde Hotel, Spa and Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coco Beach hotel is located in Playas del Coco, the area of largest touristic growth in the Golfo de Papagayo and one of the most popular vacation destinations for locals and tourists alike. This growing touristic community is located 40km from Liberia, the capital of Guanacaste at 20 minutes from the International Daniel Oduber Airport. Coco Beach hotel offers a fresh environment filled with tropical air and surrounded by fun and adventure. Our hotel brings together a variety of services that include hotel, restaurant, sports bar, casino and a small mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coco Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Coco Beach Hotel And Casino Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.