We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho Armadillo was PHENOMENAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Armadillo Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Armadillo Estate
Save
You added Rancho Armadillo Estate to your Saves list
Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rancho Armadillo was PHENOMENAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Rancho Armadillo is a "hotel" on a hill side in Playas del Coco Costa Rica. It only has 6 rooms, spread across 3 buildings, and the proprietor, Rick, makes you feel as though you're family from the very beginning. The property overlooks rolling hills and the Pacific ocean. You're minutes away from downtown, which is a beach town full of restaurants, shops and excursions, but you feel like you're a million miles from anything when you're laying in one of the hammocks watching monkeys in the trees and feeling that warm breeze. Rick will help you plan any excursion from zip lining to hidden waterfalls to SCUBA diving. It was like nothing else I've ever experienced and can't wait to go back. Thanks Rick! Jen

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was our second time at the estate at it was as enjoyable as it was three years ago. Rick Vogel is an excellent host, the facilities are marvelous and the region has lots to see and do. Rick will get you organized for what ever adventure you have in mind. Our favourite was the chartered snorkeling tour with Sea Bird Excursions. 10 out of 10! The weather if phenomenal in February 35 C wind brisk winds to keep you cool. We split our week into 2 portions 4 days at Coco and then 3 days up to the rain forest at Monte Verde. We flew into the new airport at Liberia, Rancho is 25 minutes away. Warning eat before you head to the airport on your way home...terrible price gouging. Two pannini sandwhiches were $55 US - or Two slices of pizza $36! Needless to say we left hungry!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

The location is beautiful, amenities are excellent but it Rick's superb hosting that puts it over the top. It is an intimate setting to relax, enjoy the surroundings or launch point from which paradise. Thanks, Rick. Genevieve

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Rick has the most beautiful estate in a very cool part of the world. My hubby and I had a lovely and relaxing time at this great getaway in Playa del Coco. Rick is the perfect host - full of great stories and a real love for what he does. Plus, he knows everything about the area and the locals. We went zip-lining, played with monkeys and snakes, spent an entire day doing absolutely nothing by the pool and ate amazing ceviche every single day.

This place, and this part of the world, are just as great as all the other reviews have stated. Hope we can come back and visit the howler monkeys again soon. Thank you Rick! And hope Rio and her kittens are doing OK!

Kayul & Rahul

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Rancho Armadillo. We booked after reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor and they were all true. We had a fantastic time and Rick truly is the best host. Great food and service. Best view in Playa Del Coco and it was also away from the hussle and bustle of town but close enough to walk if you could handle the heat! We chose taxi transport which was only about $4-5 a trip. Rick is extremely helpful so if you need anything just ask him. Would highly recommend it as a place to stay. Thanks for a great week. Jim & Helen

Room Tip: We had the Shark room which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Rancho Armadillo over the Christmas holidays with our two teenage sons. The rooms, resort grounds and public areas were very nice. The host, Rick is a great source of information and guidance regarding things to do and see, along with things not to bother with.

Costa Rica is a small country, so it is easy to get around on your own if you're a bit adventurous. We traveled up near the Nicaraguan border and found a fantastic secluded beach in a great bay for the boys to swim and enjoyed our packed lunch.

We would recommend this resort to our friends and will definitely stay again if Costa Rica is on the agenda.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Rancho Armadillo is a collection of spacious houses generously spread out over the estate. It's just outside of Playas del Coco. Just far enough to let you enjoy the peace and quiet but also close enough to get you to the shops with a five minute drive.
We stayed in the Shark Room which had a large king sized bed and large bathroom and air condition. The whole place feels a bit like a vintage Hacienda with lots of old brick, fields and trees where you if you are lucky find the odd howler monkey. The place was tranquil and we slept very well.
Rick, the owner, is an excellent host who has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the local watering holes and places to avoid. He kindly supplied us with lots of details before we arrived so we felt well prepared.
Rick looked after us for breakfast with an amazing variety of fresh fruit as well as pancakes and a huge selection of bread to choose from.
The pool is small but great for a dip and you have a spectacular view of the sunset from here. We also felt spoilt when Rick let us take a peek at Jupiter through his telescope.
Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rancho Armadillo Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Armadillo Estate

Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Armadillo Estate, a small private mountainside estate overlooking the Gulf of Papagayo. The estate is perfect for couples, families or groups. Our guests feel like they're coming to visit friends who have a really nice place to stay. Our knowledge of Costa Rica ensures our guests experience the best Costa Rica has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Armadillo Estate Hotel Playas Del Coco
Rancho Armadillo Estate Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Armadillo Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.