We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Puerta del Sol was the perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Puerta del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playas del Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Puerta del Sol
Save
You added Hotel La Puerta del Sol to your Saves list
La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Puerta del Sol was the perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

La Puerta del Sol was the perfect hotel to stay at while my wife and I visited Playas del Coco on our honeymoon. We chose the hotel after reading a good review about it in our travel book and planned on only staying one night. A week later, we had spent our entire honeymoon there and were heading back to the States.

Their breakfast is amazing and they set us up with a great tour guide agency (Shaman Tours), who picked us up at the hotel every day and took us all over Costa Rica. The staff and owners are very, very friendly and they helped us out so much throughout the week. The garden and the pool are great and it is only about a 5 minute walk to the beach. It is also tucked away from the main street so it is very quiet at night and during the day, but is still an easy walk to get downtown. We were very lucky to stay at La Puerta del Sol and will definitely stay there again whenever we travel back to Coco.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
40
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka KS
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed here as part of a dive & hotel package arranged by Deep Blue Diving, and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is lovely, situated off a quiet side street, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The rooms were spacious, and included a small frig, coffee maker, security safe, and a semi-private veranda just steps from the pool. The bathroom had a large shower, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure, and the room had very good lighting, plenty of electrical outlets, a ceiling fan, excellent a/c, and yes, free WiFi.

The breakfast was the same each day, but it was more than adequate, and service was gracious and friendly. The fresh pineapple and papaya were particular favorites.

The resident cats kept us entertained, and we enjoyed watching the howler monkeys scampering in the distant treetops (no worries -- the hotel grounds are well-protected from marauding primates).

The service at the hotel was terrific; Elizabeth happily helped us arrange a day of zip-lining and white-water rafting, and she gave us some spot-on recommendations for local restaurants.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach, where we joined the dive boat each day. If you're diving with Deep Blue, Hotel La Puerta del Sol is the perfect choice, and I give it an unqualified recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We where in the suite, a bit more expensive than the others but it was the only one available. It was totally worthy!! We spend a lot of time in the swimming pool and seeing a nice bird and a squirrell that were fighting in one of the trees around the pool. We spend very good time there!

Room Tip: The suite is expensive, but it is really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We came here while in CR spending time with family that lives in San Jose.
Hotel is small and cozy.
Nice owners and mellow dogs.
Hotel is close to some awesome beaches and some good places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed at the Puerta del Sol for three nights, diving with the Deep Blue Divers. The hotel is situated in a beautiful garden with a small swimming pool. It is situated in a little side street so that you have a quiet night but can reach the mainstreet by foot in less than 5 minutes. The rooms are very nicely decorated and individual as well as spaciuos and well equipped. Breakfast was good and the hosts, an italian couple, very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

What a nice place to stay! We spent eight nights here doing some diving and just relaxing. Elizabeth was a wonder!!!! She helped us arrange travel and answered all our questions...besides just being a wonderful person. The pool is fantastic to relax in during the heat of the afternoon and with the surrounding gardens between the pool and our rooms, it is just a wonderful place. All the staff from owner to night guard was friendly, just like all Ticos. We would not think twice about coming back to this wonderful place....please visit these awesome people and place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel is great. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They spent a fair amount of time tracking down tour information, and even calling a doctor when I got sick. The breakfast is good, the grounds are beautiful. The only thing that is not perfect is the walk to town, which only seems long because I am from Florida, and we do not walk anywhere, but on the flipside, it is nice to be a little away from town. The rooms are lovely, AC works great, mini-fridge, safe. I cannot think of anything I can add to make the hotel better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puerta del Sol

Address: La Chorrera | 200 mts. este del Lizard 75 sur, Playas del Coco 50503, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at 30 minutes from Liberia International airport, 100 meters of the beach.Our place is special for rest and relaxing,we are close to restaurants and shops.Swimming pool, gym, tropical garden, free parking, 24 hours security, Wi - fi connection. The rooms have small living room and private terrace, and are equipped with: Hot water, cable TV, Air conditioned, ceiling fan, safe box, refrigerator, Coffee maker. Only no smoking rooms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puerta Del Sol Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Puerta del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.