We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in January” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Pez Vela Resort to your Saves list
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Ocotal | Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Roanoke, Va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise in January”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

My family & 2 friends stayed at Bahia Pez Vela from January 2-8, 2010. Our 3 bedroom villa was perfect for 6 people and a great location, just down from the office. It was an easy walk to the beach (black sand, it's true) and the restaurant on the property - Pappagallo Pura Vida. All of the staff was great that we encountered!! We booked 3, day long excursions through BPV with Costa Rica Unique. Jose, our guide was great , as was Edwin, our guide in Nicaragua!! My twenty something daughters loved the marine life in the volcanic rock tidal pools and the howler monkeys that came out each day @ dawn & dusk. It was also very secure- with guards that roamed the property. What a beautiful escape from the frigid temps in VA!!! 90 degress in the daytime. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed at Bahia Pez Vela in a 3-bedroom oceanfront villa for 2 nights. The property is located on a small hill-surrounded cove which other than the resort is completely undeveloped. . There was plenty of flora and fauna around, which is one of the things that makes Costa Rica a treat. The ambiance is extremely cozy and relaxing, due to the scenery, few people around and the decoration of the villas. The resort is extremely safe, with excellent security and a location where beach salespeople do not get to

Bahia Pez Vela is lovely and was developed years ago with an upscale concept, but due to it being a condo-development lacks the services and attention to detail to make it a luxury establishment at this point. We rented from a villa owner directly, and received the same treatment/benefits as if we would have booked through the resort. Although his rate was slightly better and he was very friendly and quite informative, he was a bit slow and cumbersome to communicate with and only accepts mailed checks at least a week prior to arrival (no paypal, credit cards, etc).

Overall, we would probably go back since there are few other comparable villa developments in the area, but I would make sure to demand that the property managers inspect my assigned villa before arrival.

Pros/Positives:
-Spacious 2-story villas , each with unobstructed ocean views. If you are in a villa down close enough to the beach, you here the waves crashing from the bedrooms.
-An on-site restaurant with better-than-average food, prices and staff for breakfast, lunch and dinner
-A beautiful collection of 2 beachfront pools, with cascading water from one to the other.
-Gorgeous views of the ocean, hills and the other end of the Gulf of Papagayo. No sunset views though.
-Few but responsive staff, especially Cesar and Cindy. The resort manager's name is Katelyn, although we never saw her during our stay.
-As a condo development, the resort is consistently quite empty, and we only saw about 10 other guests during our stay, which is great if you want privacy, relaxation and serenity.
-The resort is very well located in terms of the Guanacaste region, only 2 minutes driving from Ocotal, 10 minutes from Playa Hermosa, 20 minutes from Papagayo and about 45 minutes from Tamarindo. Ocotal Resort has a nicely located hilltop restaurant, altough it is overpriced and mediocre in terms of food quality. Hotel Finisterra in Playa Hermosa has a great gourmet restaurant with an incredible clifftop view of the Gulf of Papagayo - highly recommend it.
-Very complete kitchens in the villas, which if you stock up appropriately at one of the supermarkets in the nearby town of Coco can make your stay quite inexpensive and relaxing if you don't mind making a meal every couple of days.

Cons/Problems:
-The resort is quite short on staff, so for example at night (after 4PM) there is no one working at the resort other than the two security guards and the restaurant employees who are unaffiliated to Bahia Pez Vela. If you have any issues with your villa, you are on your own, and even during the day there are only one or two staff people and a couple of maids for the whole resort, so problems don't get resolved very quickly as I explain further below.
-There beach is not the best for sunbathing or swimming. Waves do crash ashore most of the time, which for most people does not make getting in a pleasant experience. There is no beach service in terms of lounge chairs, food or drink.
-There was construction on the pool deck of the villa next door to ours. They were using a loud drill as early as 7AM, which for a vacation development is unacceptably early.
-Water service was unavailable for a couple of hours during the morning of hour departure, and the wireless internet that was supposed to be available never was during the entire stay.
-Upon our arrival there were a couple of burnt light bulbs in the living room, and the TV remote control and coffee maker were not working.
-The resort is about 15 years old, and refurbishment seems to be done in a hodge-podge fashion, and within the villas is done at complete discretion of the individual owner. The shower towels and the drinking glasses in our villa were quite shabby in condition, and could use some updating. And the lounge chairs in the resort pool also need replacement.
-Some of the villas at the top of the hill have spectacular ocean views, but definitely require the use of a car to go down to the restaurant, pool and the beach.
-To get in and out of the resort you need to drive through the town of Coco, which has restaurants, grocery stores, banks, shops and more. But the road is small and the locals ride around on bikes and cross in your path often with two or three people aboard a small bike. You have to drive very slowly and carefully to avoid an incident.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Md
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Bahia Pez Vela was amazing, we only got to stay two nights and we didn't want to leave. We had villa 26 or 28 I think . It was an end unit and across from the security station. The villa had really nice decore and furnishings. The outside patio and plunge pool was really nice. We had the most amazing view of the ocean, being up on the hill. Loved the beach even though we didn't get to use it much. The water was clear and calm when we were there. The beach has black and brown sand, but it was still a beautiful beach. The on site restaurant was good we had one dinner, lunch and beakfast there all good. We went out to eat at a steak house in coco, that was some of the best steak I have ever eaten. It started with a P can't remember the name , but it is on the main drag. We didn't get to explore much as we were only there two nights, but we like what we saw and felt very safe there. My husband and son went scuba diving with Rich coast diving and really enjoyed it. The only complaint I have about Bahia is that the villas up on the hill it is a very steeep hike back up from the beach. It would be nice if the had a shuttle or golf carts or something. If you have a car you can drive up and down . It would also be nice to have some chairs on the beach, other than that I highly recommend this place. Next time, I will be taking a beachfront villa, that way I will be close to the pool and restaurant and beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Our stay at Bahia Pez Vela #11 was excellent. John and Carolanne made the process very easy. The condo is well equipped and very spacious. It easily accommodated our family of six (children 17, 15, 12 and 9). The washer and dryer were a bonus. This beach is for those who enjoy privacy and quiet. It was the busy season and we often swam by ourselves, which we loved! The lava rocks are good for exploring when the tide is out. A different kind of beach walk, but lovely just the same. My husband who has traveled extensively, does not often say he would return to a place as there are so many beautiful places to see. He said however that he'd be more than happy to come back to this unspoiled, lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Have been traveling to BPV in Playa Ocotal Costa Rica for three consecutive years now. The community is spectacular, the views are fantastic and the staff is attentive to your every need. There is nothing like waking up and sipping coffee while watching pelicans dive into the Pacific for their breakfast, and watching the howler monkeys in the trees around you. The on site triple infinity pool is great for kids, and the restaurant and bar that adjoin it make it perfect for adults as well. Definelty going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

After an amazing stay at the Springs Resort and Spa in Arenal, this resort was a letdown, but really, nothing could have stood up to the first part of our trip. The 40 villas are laid out along the edge of a hill. We were in villa 27, which was really not in walking distance to the beach because of the narrow road and the extremely steep hills. The villa was okay, though the towels and sheets were ratty and the bed was rather uncomfortable. The view was great. Who wouldn't want to be able to watch monkeys and parrots and the ocean from the back deck. I was dubious about the black sand beach at first, but it is the softest sand I have ever felt, and the water was relatively warm, calm, and a great place for wading, snorkeling, and kayaking. The restaurant was okay. We chose to go into town for a few of our meals, and that worked out well. You'll definitely need a car if you're planning on staying here.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The distance from our villa to the beach
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We visited Bahia Pez Vela Thanksgiving week 2 couples and it was the perfect location for us. Husbands into fishing and were able to fish every a.m. from the rocks at either end of the beach. Stayed in Villa # 10 and it was nice and clean with everything you need. We stocked the fridge with some snacks and drinks and went into town every night for dinner. Highly recommend a car - restaurant on site was good but a little higher price than in town. Very fresh seafood - everywhere!! The house was very clean and had 2 full bathrooms and one 1/2 bath. You could roll down the hill and end up in the ocean or walk down 10 steps from the villa and be at the pool or restaurant. Very quiet location and safe. I would highly recommend for family's or couples - not for the spring break college party.

  • Liked — Kitchen/Washer & Dryer
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal | Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Pez Vela Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.