We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two best villas at this resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Pez Vela Resort to your Saves list
Bahia Pez Vela Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Two best villas at this resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in Villa Ginger #2 and Villa Las Olas #4. Our week stay was too short. Like others mentioned: the villas are very well-stocked, beds and other furniture very comfortable, great base for outings, the onsite restaurant is good for both luch and dinner.

Villa Las Olas has the best location in the resort for privacy, trees on one side and landscaped privacy between it and the villa next door and a wonderful private pool! Villa Ginger has a great covered patio and a slightly better beach view. The beach is even closer that it looks in the photos onVRBO. While we were there the resort seemed pretty empty, very few people at the restaurant, resort pool and beach. That was wonderful for us! Easy to keep track of kids. Space to play frisbee on the beach. No waiting at the bar/restaurant.

The beach is so close that we didn't bother to bring towels with us, just walked back up to the villa and plopped down on very comfy patio furniture. Snorkeling was so easy any time of day; just put on your mask and stick your face in the water anywhere. There were always fish to see. Around the rocks at either end of the beach was most populated but plenty to see in the middle too. There was only one afternoon that the water was a bit murky. And the water is very warm

I had read that it was rainy season at the time of our visit but we only got rain once while zipling about an hour away from the resort. Zipling was great anyway and was combined with a hot springs visit near Mira Valles! We also enjoyed an ATV tour and a wave-runner tour. The wave-runner tour was particularly good because the bay was wide-open with very few boats. So I wasn't worried about how wild my 20yo was driving; he only took one spill.

The on-site restaurant is good. Juan is very friendly. Get a smoothie by the pool, but if you order food walk upstair and eat at the tables. These birds that look like giant blue-jays are very agressive. While my 11yo was holding a plate of fries one landed on her head, scared the daylights out of her!

We also like Father Roosters (very close) and we really liked Ginger (25 minutes away). Make a reservation for Ginger; it's small and gets busy. They have a great selection of tapas.

In the evenings we were visited by raccoons. They are taller and sleeker that the ones I've seen in the States. After petting one that someone had as a pet while we were on the ATV ride I was tempted to feed them. I bet a lot of people do cuz they seemed very comfortable literally lying around within 5' of us in the yard. Instead we took lots of pictures of them.

Costa Ricans are pleasant and pretty low-key. Not a thousand vendors trying to sell you something every time you turn around. When I inquired about Villa Las Olas I asked about a 2nd unit and the owner, LaRaye, recommended Villa Ginger. LaRaye sent me her notes. Read them thoroughly, great information. And the concierge, Kelsey, used by Villa Ginger's owner set up activities, car rentals and reservations for us. Both great resources! I would go back to this resort and these villas and I will recommend both to my friends.

Room Tip: Villas 1-4 are closest to the beach with best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a great stay here for a week for our honeymoon. Isabella was fantastic about working with us over email before our trip. She set up our car rental and planned all of our guided tours and a massage. The villa is clean, comfortable and has TV and wifi. The pool and restaurant on site are great. The black sand beach is wonderful and you can snorkel right there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Bahia Pez Vela in general was the perfect spot for us (family with two young kids). Very private beach with few visitors compared to so many, safe for swimming and snorkeling (Clean. The resort is made up of a cluster of villas with very well kept grounds, a very convenient restaurant, Picante, serving excellent food, and pools. Cesar in the office was a pleasure to work with and all staff were courteous and helpful. The landscaping, villas, pools and restaurant are very well maintained and it's simply paradise.

While the resort has a very private feel, it also offers easy access to Coco (with lots of restaurants, shops and grocery stores) as well as the main Ocotal beach (restaurant such as Father Roosters, scuba diving shop, fishing, etc.) For us it was the best of both worlds--proximity to conveniences when we wanted them yet a private, clean and safe area to relax and enjoy. I love to travel and even when I love a place I often don't return as there are so many other places to enjoy and see, but I do want to return here.

We had a car and felt we needed one to take advantage of everything the area has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our unit (19) had a great view of the bay, and ocean beyond, and was a short walk to the pool and restaurant. The resort is very quiet. These are owner occupied units, so they vary in appearance. It's more of condo living than a resort, which for our family of four, was perfect. We shopped in Coco at the grocery store, went out there to eat once or twice, but otherwise, cooked on our patio overlooking the water. You'll have to create your outings, or use the staff at the resort to do so for you; there is nothing within 10 minutes of the units, so you are staying away from it all. The views, and slow pace, was to our liking, but might not be for all. I would bring snorkel gear of my own next time, and fishing fear, too.Oh, and the pool: to die for, with its views and quite. All in all: paradise, and it will be a regular stop for us in the future.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington VT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Private beach is black sand with tide pools in the morning that catch shells and critters. There were never many people around somehow! The monkeys however are everywhere and carry on early morning conversations.

We were a family of 7 and stayed in #14, an end unit with our own small pool. We were pleased to find a grill and used it 3 nights. The pool was great for our 8 and 11 year old kids. We had wanted an ocean front unit, but think this unit was perfect, just a short walk to the beach and to reception desk.

The food is spectacular at the Picante restaurant and reasonably priced. We ate lunch there and one dinner.

The woman (I didn't get her name) at reception was wonderful, finding us a boat trip, a rental car and horse back riding place.

We bought groceries and shopped in town. A great way to go with a group.

Room Tip: The units that are higher up have wonderful views but it is a hike to the beach and pools and restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just returned from a week at this resort staying in unit #36. Beautiful resort, with immaculately kept grounds and very attentive staff. Nice and quiet as not many units. Private beach is wonderful. Pool area is spacious and well maintained.
Absolutely best feature is the Picante restaurant. Food is absolutely amazing with a menu that caters to those of seeking more of the local food, and those wanting the safe "american" choices. Cesar the bartender / waiter is wonderful.

Certainly would recommend having your own car if staying here. Taxis can be summoned, but much easier to drive yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in Villa Pelicano, #10. The apartment itself was well-appointed, modern, and convenient to the beach, the pool and Picante. We very much enjoyed the grounds, having a beach and bay essentially to ourselves, and the food at Picante.

Room Tip: We would go back to Villa #10: it wasn't right on the water, but it had a good view and was a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Pez Vela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Pez Vela Resort

Address: Playa Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Pez Vela Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Pez Vela Resort is located on a secluded bay on the Papagayo Gulf near Playa Ocotal, only 3 miles from Playas del Coco and about 30 minutes from the Liberia Airport.Our Resort has 40 privately owned Villas that are used for vacation rentals. We have both beach front and ocean view Villas, all are 3 bedroom, 21/2 bath, fully furnished with full kitchen plus laundry facilities. The Villa prices range from $240 to $750 depending on location, season, and amenities.Our Picante Restaurant is next to 3 of our 4 swimming pools that overlook the black sand beach and the bay. It is available for weddings, meetings and other special events.Bahia Pez Vela Resort features snorkeling in our bay, easy pick up for fishing tours and a convenient location for enjoying Guanacaste area attractions and tours.We are sure that our Resort is a perfect resource for you, your family & friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia Pez Vela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Pez Vela Hotel Playas Del Coco
Bahia Pez Vela Resort Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Pez Vela Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.