We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We concur, amazing burgers......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Oasis

Soda Oasis
Next to Rich Coast Diving, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
+506 8346 0677
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We concur, amazing burgers......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After reading that this was the #1 restaurant out of 48 in Playa del Coco, we had to try it. Even better it was owned by a Canadian - the giveaway was the Canadian Club Ginger Ale in the fridge. We shared 2 plates - the Fish and Chips, and the Diablo Burger. Both were superb, and while they didn't have malt vinegar for the Fish, they actually did have white vinegar - you just need to ask for it. The ambiance is pretty much nonexistent, as it's a basically an outdoor stand. There is a covered patio, and you can watch the action on the street, but no need to get dressed up. Weren't the cheapest burgers we've ever had, but the quality was superb. If you want beer, you need to ask for it. Just go....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best burgers in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just wow. Wife and I had lunch there today and their burgers are great. I had the diablo which was just about the best burger I've ever had (and trust me I've had alot). My wife had the grande burger and she loved it. My only complaint is their beer selection (only Imperial). But hey, it's a burger joint not a bar, so I won't downgrade them for a poor beer selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“really great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

cheap, good food, right on the main drag.
I had the Gringo Burger and the Diablo Burger. Both delicious.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicoya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great burgers, fantastic fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only went once during our stay near Coco because the earthquake of Nicoya kept us away our last day. We tried the Diablo burger which was just great - perfect amount of heat, and a really nice amount of cheese so that it wasn't overwhelming. What we were really blown away by, though, was the fish and chips. The fry on the fish was absolutely perfect, and the fries were the best we've had in a long time. Can't wait to go back and try the buffalo chicken tenders.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del coco, guanacaste Costa Rica
1 review
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Best burger in Coco bar none!!! A real passion for dining. Good on the budget too. A friend of mine recommended we go for a bite and I'll most certainly be coming back again & again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Oasis also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Soda Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.