We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good advice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Seafood

Papagayo Seafood
Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
506 2670-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, good advice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The maître d at this restaurant lured us in with very little coaxing because other people had already told us to eat here. He then steered us with just the tiniest bit of coaxing as to where to get the cheapest coffee and best deals on CR cigars. For lunch, I had the whole snapper. The amount of food was awesome. The price good. And the taste worth the price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    109
    36
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Great shrimp cocktail"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

After spending time in Coco Beech area in hot sun and a couple hours of shopping we stopped here again like we had two years ago, ice cold beers and one of the best large ,huge shrimp cocktails, it hit the spot ,they also have fans everywhere to keep you cool,very reasonable prices also. W THOUGHT IT WAS GOOD IN SPITE OF OTHER REVIEWS!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Shrimp tasted like leather”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Terrible!!! This was the first time in my life I saw so many people at one table take a bite of their food and push plates off in disgust.

The service was very friendly, good drinks, but unfortunately the food couldn't have been any worse. I myself ordered a lobster dish which didn't have a spec of lobster in it and some how tasted exactly the same as the other dishes I tried. The shrimp was flavorless, little, and was like eating leather. Go somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Papagayo is a very large establishment (by Costa Rican standards) so there is no problem getting a table during their busy time. The service is extremely friendly & the food was delicious! I tried their sushi. It was very fresh!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The food was wonderful and delicious. The lobster dinner was huge. I really loved the tea and pineapple juice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Seafood also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.