We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Seafood

Papagayo Seafood
Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
506 2670-0298
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved Papagayo seafood!!!! Had the best seafood! Waiter was not the best! Not friendly at all which was very unusual for Coco! Prices more like US prices but not bad! Will definitely return! No wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    63
    79
    25
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere in MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Catch of the Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Husband and I stopped in here after wandering up and down the streets of Playas del Coco in search of food. We sat upstairs and had the catch of the day - mahi mahi. There are different ways the fish can be prepared ... my husband opted for a way which included pineapples and I opted for one with peppers. Pineapple won!!! Tuna sashimi was delicious and plentiful! Imperial cervezas were ice cold.

For four Imperials, a tuna sashimi appetizer, and two fresh catch mahi mahi's we spent about $50. Somewhat expensive but the food was very, very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caremanager99
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really great place!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After driving from Tamarindo, the restaurant we wanted to go to in Playa Coco was closed so we ended up in Papagayo Seafood. Our meal was very good. The mahi mahi ceviche was an excellent recommendation, the whole red snapper was exceptional and the sautéed chicken breast was moist and flavorful.
Our waiter, Mauricio, was very friendly and attentive as was Jeniffer, the hostess. Jennifer came over to our table and we had a great conversation. She was so very helpful as seems to be true with just about everyone in Costa Rica.
Papagayo Seafood turned out to be an unexpected gem!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FULL TO THE TOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were walking by and you could smell the charbroil steaks in the air. I got steak and lobster, she got steak and shrimp. both came with soup/salad. The plates were over the edge ...ever bite was better than the first ! I did'nt want to eat it all , but I did'nt want to waste it either ! I skipped dinner. AND breakfast the next ady !!! The male servers were on top of it every second. The prices were reasonable too !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Drinks were so so, the food was good but many others to choose from. I had whole fried snapper, Nothing special, boring, Seafood salad was lettuce and seafood, not extras, Its okay to eat, just better places to eat at for the same price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Seafood also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.