We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great mojitos, fantastic sunset view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Calle La Chorera, Playas del Coco 1600, Costa Rica
+506(2)6701621
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great mojitos, fantastic sunset view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The village of Playa del Coco was disappointing (tourist trap, dirty, boring) but stumbling onto Cafe de Playa was like finding a sand dollar on the beach. We drove past it several times before finding it. The atmosphere was serene, peaceful, decorated in modern furniture (fuchsia and white), and it was right on the beach, coconut trees and all. The sunset view was out of this world! My husband and I ordered two mojitos and they came in big, tall glasses -- yum! I also ordered a margarita that was yum, yum! For food, we ordered garlic shrimp that came in crock with melted butter, an empanada, and bacon-wrapped mushrooms. We watched people job by with their small children and dogs and loved the sunset view. Very romantic. True gem at Playa del Coco.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist trap.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

The food was way over priced and the portions less the adequate. The wine list was poor with almost every choice not available. Service was slow and almost uneducated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love Cafe de Playa as a great restaurant and accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am an airline Pilot for a U.S. major airline. I have never been more impressed with an attentive staff, excellent meals and a wonderful hotel experience! The staff was so attentive and kind. My girlfriend was so impressed and she felt the whole experience was so romantic. We will be back and feel like we have found a new home abroad!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good oceanside restaurant and bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Beautiful beach setting in comfortable lounge sofas. The appetizers were good, the drinks pretty good, but the setting can't be beat. Good place to watch the sunset.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Location with excellent Food & Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

great place with excellet atmosphere. I love this location.
Good music, good service, excellent dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.