We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Calle La Chorera, Playas del Coco 1600, Costa Rica
+506(2)6701621
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first day's drinks at the beach a joy. An evening dinner after walking the beach from Coco resort; it looks so elegant at night! Great food, all 4 choices, and friendly waiter.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    48
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The beauty of this place is that it's right on the beach, and the sunsets were very nice to watch (great colors). They have a 2 for 1 Happy Hour (5 to 6 pm) which is good. It's not cheap as that brings the cost of the frozen drinks down to $5/drink. The drinks are excellent though (try the pina colada or the mango daquiri (sp)) - probably the best that we had the whole week- but not cheap. It's mainly folks from the nearby condo complex and more upscale than most locations. If money isn't a problem, this was pretty darn good. We didn't eat here except for breakfast once (was probably the best breakfast we had in country but again, not cheap ($10/person) and an order of coconut shrimp with drinks, but was told the chef was actually quite skilled at the entrees. It's a "beach club" as well and was part of our package so we did use it one day for swimming, and this was a nice couple of hours watching folks on the beach walk by. The local retired Italian community seemed to congregate here as well, so very international in the languages being heard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended! Best piña coladas and mojito's I've had to date. Food and service was fantastic. View of beach and sunset along with the lighting was great. If I ever ventured back to Costa Rica I would definitely eat here again. Must try!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but Quaint with great food and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A great treasure to have found this little off the beaten track place. About 7 blocks from main street in Coco beach but well worth the find. The drinks (Mohito, Pina Colada's) were great and the food fabulous along with the cheery staff that tended to our table. Ambiance with the trees lit and the larger than normal patio lanterns added charm to the place. Great way to pass the evening oceanside watching the beautiful Costa Rican sunset. Reasonably priced eg. four drinks and meal about 40 bucks each. The drinks were well worth the price in that the sizes were larger than expected and definitely tasty. Our 3 yr old grand daughter ate her pasta like it was the best she ever had.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great beach and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the chaise chairs on the beach with the coffee and food delivered to me while tanning and swimming. The dining area has fans and keeps you cool while having really good food. Give this restaurant a try. You will come back again. I have to give away this gem but everyone should try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.