We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Playa

Cafe de Playa
Calle La Chorera, Playas del Coco 1600, Costa Rica
+506(2)6701621
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The view is beautiful and the food is good but be prepared to empty you wallets. What's great about this place is that you can rent kayaks and paddle out from the beach outside the cafe. Just like most all the restaurants there, the employees can understand what you order but you must speak slow if you cannot speak Spanish. They will have a hard time understanding anything else which is good because we brushed up on our Spanish very quickly here in costa rica!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    95
    42
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“check prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This evening I stopped by to see if they had any specials. I was looking at the menu and asked the waiter about the mahi mahi ($14) vs the special. He said the special gave you more for your money so I decided to go with it. Well, come to find out the special was $65 not 6500 colonies or $13 as was most of the other prices on the menu. I also ordered a dessert b/c I was still a bit hungry, not even asking the price and it turned out to be $10 for some fruit with carmelizing on top. The manager did decide to knock off the dessert and give me 15% off the price, but I still walked out of there for over $50 ( and it did include a glass of wine). This is way more than I have ever paid anywhere in the country! And the entree was some vegtables, potatoe, mahi mahi, shrimp, and calamari. I feel that I was just totally ripped off. The manager was nice but $65 for an entree???? I feel like a sucker on this one!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlasaenz, Manager at Cafe de Playa, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are very sorry you misunderstood our special Sea Food Platter Mix price, that is on a visible board in the restaurant, you did ask for our best dish and it was recommended to you. This dish comes with Red Snapper, Mahi Mahi, Calamari and big Shrimps, is one of our clients favorite. We are sorry you found this expensive but our quality, location and services are one of the best in Playas del Coco, thats why Cafe de Playa received the Excellence Award from our clients of 2012. We would like to welcome you back any time in our beach front paradise, our pleasure is to have our clients happy and you are an important client for us!
Thank you! Cafe de Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

i spent all my sunday day at cafe de playa. was just fantastic: sea,beach, pool, garden, music relax and a fantastic lunch with tenderloin with truffle and a glass of excellent wine, simply delicious!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
For Worth, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food excellent atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was outstanding. Our private tour guide, Tomato recommended this place and it was wonderful! The lobster and shrimp, sea bass and marlin were to die for. We had not seen much fresh seafood at the resort so this was a welcomed delite.

Make sure you visit this place on your next trip to Guanacaste, CR!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beutiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

this place is very nice ,right by the beach.the food is very good .A little pricey but worth it.also very good drinks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Playa also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Cafe de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.