We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super pizza eclectic ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andres Beach Bar & Pizzeria

Andres Beach Bar & Pizzeria
Main Street, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Playas Del Coco, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super pizza eclectic ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The pizza is consistently good and the owner Andres will sometimes be your server. He is friendly, full of information and eager to please. The indoor seating makes you feel like you are in an eclectic living room. He does offer specials like a lamb dish or meat dish but pizza is the primary fare. Located on the main street in Coco. Worth a trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the first time I ever wrote a scathing review, but after enjoying so much about the restaurants in Coco Beach and Sàmara, I can't accept the proprietors comments, Andres, "Well you're in Costa Rica now, what do you expect?" I do expect that when I mention there are no paper towels in the washroom that I don't get a reply, "You can wipe your hands on my shirt." He not only said that to me, but said the same thing to my husband later when he mentioned the same thing about the washroom. This was the culmination of a horrible evening at Andres. First, three of us were given seats at an empty table for 10, which was okay as all the tables were apparently full. But when he told a young British tourist already seated at a table for 4 next to us to move to the bar to eat because he wanted 2 older couples (obviously with lots of money) to sit at her table, we were shocked. Second, after about an hour of waiting we finally got our filet steak special. Unfortunately, what my husband got was more like stew (2 small pieces). Our other two orders were not much different. The 2 older couples mentioned above sitting at the table next to us were served very quickly and some nice looking filet steak. In fact, it was so nice that one of the women couldn't finish it and put her plate of food on the floor for the (owner's ?) dog to finish. That pretty much was the last straw. The food was awful and the Piña Colada was watered down. The whole experience was more than bizarre and embarrassing.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss Andre's Thursday steak night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Reservations required for Thursday's Steak Night to enjoy one of the best steaks you will find. Monday Shepherd's Pie was very good too. A nice bowl of fresh salad was included for the table. Good prices too. Can't comment on the pizza because we did not try it. We will definitely go back on our next trip to this busy and fun beach town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sign is right, awesome pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Have been a few times, pizza is thin crust and soooo delicious!!!!!
Be sure to go, and you can also use phone and computers there. Kind of looks like an insignificant place, but you gotta try their pizza!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our first restaurant in Costa Rica--good choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is such a funky-cool little place, we love the atmosphere here. It's a great place for a drink, and their pizza is fair as well. Lovely folks working their, super friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andres Beach Bar & Pizzeria also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Andres Beach Bar & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andres Beach Bar & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.