We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda La Teresita

Soda La Teresita
across from public beach, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
26700665
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
McMinnville, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

we ended up in this restaurant quite by accident. We were looking for another place we had read about and asked someone for directions, he did not know the place we wanted but told us Soda Teresita has the best Costa Rican food in Coco. Good enough for us. This was just our kind of place. Right along the beach front, all local food and all local people eating there. Our server was wonderful, very patient with our kids and helped them with their Spanish. My Husband had the garlic shrimp, said they were the best dinner he had in CR. I asked Luis for a recommendation and had their special house steak, it was amazing. The portions were generous, the price was very fair and the atmosphere was down home and relaxed. We would recommend this place to anyone looking for great local food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fry grouper in guanacaste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It bothers me that I have to pay so much for a fry fish in this place , but after checking so many other one that are fancy. Soda teresita has the best fry fish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeland, Wi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Costa Rican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just walking around town looking for a place for a local breakfast. Boy, did we hit it lucky! Had beans and rice with a locally made sausage and toast. A very good meal and plenty of food. We had enough sausage left for another breakfast each at home. The waiter was very attentive and friendly. The prices were very reasonable compared to the more "up scale" places down the street. We definitely will go back for more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great place for local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

on the corner of the calle central and the beach, excellent spot, food is very good tico cusine, casado of rice and beans plus meat or fish, lots of other items on the menu, good for breakfast lunch or dinner, wonderful batidos (smoothies) and can even get a beer. Importantly, it is inexpensive and gringos can eat the salad. I ate there a number of times during a 3 week stay in Playas del Coco

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Tico food, across from beach, great to try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Loved the food, awesome to look out at the beach. Bathrooms need a little work, but great to have a place that is still Tico and not American!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda La Teresita also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Soda La Teresita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda La Teresita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.