We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“within walking distance of Pacifico condos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant

Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant
main road into town, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
2670-0364
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: phone (506) 2670-0364
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“within walking distance of Pacifico condos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Short walk from the condos we stayed at. Low season, so we were the only ones in the restaurant in the back. There is also bar type seating up front, near the road for more casual atmosphere. Good ceviche. Was amazed how well behaved the family dogs were. Circled the restaurant seating area, but never entered it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    28
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service Inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Rick Vogel at our hotel, Rancho Armadillo, recommended Milanes, and the food is excellent. The service is a bit inconsistent but generally good. It can be loud if there is a soccer game on the televisions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place, love the atmosphere and the food. The "Lomito" is delicious, my girlfriend ordered fish stuffed with shrimps, awesome too. A+++ Great service as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really good food, waiting time is excessive!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you have time and don’t mind waiting a long time for your food (20-30 minutes) then you should come here; food is very good and prices are good as well. I went 3 times and everything I tried tasted good and fresh made… from rice & shrimp, hamburgers to fajitas.

Staff is very friendly and from what I heard from local people those waiting times are normal in the place, even if you are the only table they are waiting on.

Would go back since I am normally there on vacation…but stay away if you are in a hurry!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, try the seafood cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We discovered El Milanes by recommendation of a friend in Guanacaste, as most or restaurants in El Coco tend to be more oriented towards international cuisine, and we were looking for a fair place to eat seafood.

You MUST try the seafood cream, it is simply delicious, probably the best I've tasted. It has plenty of seafood, ranging from shrimp, fish, squid, octopus and a piece of crab. The dish is so big that you can barely finish with it. The breaded shrimp are also good, but kind of expensive for the amount. In any case, the service is good and the price is fair enough. I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marisqueria Milanes Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.