We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nicer than it looks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Loft Apart-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Loft Apart-Hotel to your Saves list
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel
Carretera a Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Playas del Coco
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's nicer than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room was very nice and clean, the rooms have a modern decoration and it feels more expensive than it really is. Hoping that the same quality stays I'll be back everytime I have to work in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent five nights in Marina Loft. We had a very spacious double room with lots of privacy for us and our children. This was really good. Our daughter had lots of fun in the swimming pool while me and my son were enjoying perfect dives with Rich Coast Diving. We had a very nice day snorkling at Playa Ocotal (5min by car). Staff was very kind, but often not around. An exemtion was the safety officer who took his work serious. I had problems paying as the creditcard device did'nt work. The safetybox in our appartment did'nt work. Despite several remarks nobody was able to solve this problem which left us with a problem. The showers were cold and stayed cold. Furthermore we had some lovely days.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was looking forward to being able to add to the collection of positive reviews that I read for the Marina Loft before booking, but unfortunately I didn't have such a great experience. I wasn't expecting luxury - just something simple, clean, and comfortable. Things didn't start well when we went to check in, arriving just a few minutes after the check-in time. We were told our room was still being cleaned, and it would be just 10 more minutes. 30 minutes later, we were taken to our room. (It didn't help that we'd traveled for more than 12 hours to get there.) Here's the breakdown of things: - The bedroom area: One of the first things I noticed was that the bedspread was dirty - and I could scratch off whatever was on it - it wasn't just a stain. Eww. We folded it down and didn't touch it, and put a sarong over the pillows when we slept in case they were dirty too. I read in another review that the sheets didn't stay on the bed, and that was the case for us too. That said, I thought the mattress was quite comfortable to sleep on. The cable TV was very nice to have. Air conditioning and fans were great! - The kitchen area: Equipped with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, rice cooker, hot plates, and utensils. Hot water in the kitchen sink. Fantastic! It would have been nice to have a dish cloth and soap to wash the dishes with. Maybe for a longer stay it would make sense to buy these things at the supermarket nearby, but not for our short stay. - The bathroom: Had two bath towels, a floor mat, a hand towel, soap, shampoo, and lotion. Hot water in the bathroom sink. It was difficult to find hot water in the shower. We usually had lukewarm showers and had to play with the knob for a few minutes even to find that. Very frustrating!! The first time I went to take a shower, I was met by a nice-sized cockroach. We killed him, and then a couple days later saw another one scurrying through the kitchen. Oh well. Apartment pets? :) Free and secure WiFi was very nice to have, although the signal was often sketchy. We found that the signal was very good in the courtyard/pool area. We were looking forward to soaking in the jacuzzi after a long day of activity, only to find that the water was cold =/. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it. The few times we came in contact with the staff, we found them to be friendly! I hoped to be able to talk to someone in the office about some of the issues we had, but there was no one in the office almost every time we went by. A few of those times a sign was in the window, but it was completely in Spanish so I only understood about half of it. We left for the airport at about 9am and when we went to check out, there was again no one in the office and the security guard told us we could leave the key with him. The location was good for our short stay as it was not far from the airport and close to lots of beaches. The Italian restaurant next door is awesome! Maybe if I had been able to meet and talk with Stefania, things would have been different...but unfortunately this was our experience. All of that said, we still had a wonderful time in Costa Rica and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you are looking for a posh 5 star Hilton-like facility - this is probably not what you seek. The Marina Lofts Apart-Hotel is located in an older neighborhood of Playas Del Coco. A previous reviewer said it was sort of European in design. There is a center courtyard area with an exquisite pool and spa - along with common areas. The rooms are neat, well kept up. There is a security guard on site 24/7. Free secure wi-fi, cable TV, refrigerator, hot plate, and microwave. The water is safe - and I have tasted worse. Be aware - the hot water is definitely hot. We used bottled water most of the time. (Although I forgot to use it a couple of mornings when making coffee - no harm done). There is a convenience store directly across the street with most items you will need. The beach is a 5 minute walk - or you can also walk into the main part of town and go to the beach from there. The main part of town is a 10-12 minute walk. You do not need to be fluent in Spanish - but it is helpful to know a few words. Most of the vendors in town are pretty decent using English. Stefania is a great hostess and will offer recommendations for all the activities in the area. There was another fellow that seemed to be a manager - very very helpful - sadly I can't recall his name - but he was usually on duty most days.

There is a bakery within a 5 minute walk - excellent flautas and other delicious items for breakfast. Fruits and veggies are nearby. There is also a larger SuperMercado within a 10 minute walk.
The rate of exchange right now is 500 colones to 1 USD. Many places accept either USD or major credit/debit cards. We rented a golf cart for our mode of transportation ($30 per day) - too much hassle renting a car and gasoline is quite expensive. Instead of renting a car we opted to take a couple of tours. We chose the Palo Verde full day tour on one day and the Congo Trail Canopy half day tour on another day. The rest of the time we spent in town or at the beach or in the pool area.
One of the reasons we really appreciated this area was because it is very authentic. There are a lot of locals (Ticos) living and working in the area - as well as kids going to school - enjoyable to get up in the morning and watch them going about their day-to-day activities-mostly on bicycles,or scooters. You don't see that at the posh luxury places.
When we did eat out, we ate at La Dolce Vita (see their FB page), and La Caveja, as well as Papagayo Sea Food - catch of the day is good. La Caveja is located right in the same building as Marina Lofts and is run by an Italian couple (they do speak a little english). At this time it is only open in the evening on Thurs. -- Sunday. Excellent pasta and pizza. We peeked in the kitchen an there was someone making home-made spaghetti. We has lasagna one night, Pizza and spaghetti. All excellent. If you are looking for the deep dish - bread dough crust - forget it. The pizza is on cracker thin crust.- and it will make you forget completely about the thick bready crust.
All-in-all I would certainly highly recommend the Marina Lofts Apart-Hotel. We always felt very welcome, staff very friendly. It is a very clean, safe, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

5min. walk to the Pacific Ocean! Cannot beat that. We walk that road til after sunset to the beach and then to main street, 10min walk. You may want to stay off the side streets after dark.
That is told all over C.R. that we have been to.
All are friendly here and security positions are super. No late night after 10pm re: parties, pool. Yes, the birds in the am are refreshing also.
When you come to C.R. live like they do! Fresh produce and vegetables available every day/season. Leave everything else at home. You won't be disappointed.

Beautiful pool and jacuzzi. Go downtown and mingle. Happy hour 10am----??
at most bars/restaurants. Recommend Pato Loco, Luigi's-The Caveja, Los Olas to all.
There is a GYM across the street..and a market..(7-11 prices)
Book ahead/Stay in #220.We stayed for 5weeks. FULL size frig, stove, and ammenities! great decorum 4 two people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My girlfriend and me had an AMAZING stay here! The room we had was very modern, clean and spacious. Stefania was a great host!! I can't say enough how helpful and kind she was. She recommended some great places to eat and made sure that we had everything we could possibly need throughout our stay. The place is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beaches and action. Also right across from a convenience store. My only suggestion, it can get a little creepy at night. The area can get pretty deserted and potentially dangerous for non-locals. Just take a taxi cab ride back. It's only $2. Traveling as a couple, we felt safe, but we were warned by other people at the hotel to just be careful at night. There is plenty of security around though, so you will never feel unsafe. The security people are incredibly friendly as well.

Overall, this was a great place to stay and we would not hesitate to book our next stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Nice pool - when you get to use it. We were booked for 3 months and went thru 3 sewer backups - rules that change on a daily basis. In the 3 months that we where there we were given 4 different sheets of rules. One day you can use the parking lot, next day you can't. One day you can use the laundry - the next day you can't. The pool gets shut down for up to 2 days at a time. You can not do your own laundry, so if you have any good clothes wash them by hand. I had my clothes returned to me after they were folded and was still very hot. Any thing whites get returned with yellow stains that do not come out. Pool always needs cleaning.

This is one condo development that we will not return to which is very sad because it does have a nice big pool. This development can only go down hill more as word gets around about the development. In my 3 months here I never heard any renter give it a good review.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Loft Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Loft Apart-Hotel

Address: Carretera a Ocotal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marina Loft HOTEL the best place to spend your holidays in Costarica!The property is situated in the beautiful setting of Playa del Coco on the road to Playa Ocotal, that can be reached in a few minutes. The residence is 280 feet from the beach, surrounded by tranquility and greeneryFor your stay, we offer:Comfortable apartments for 2/3 persons or 4/6 persons with: large kitchen complete microwave oven coffee-maker, blender double bedroom with International TV sofa bed (2 persons) air conditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Loft Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Loft Apart-Hotel Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Loft Apart-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.