We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Caveja

La Caveja
Carretera Ocotal, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
+506 2670 1311
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family runned typical Italian restaurant. All our dishes are home made, with fresh products on a daily base. Check out our daily specials. Our pizzas are prepared in an original wood oven which gives them the original flavor.We are open for suggestions and special reguest. Cannot find your pizza on our you menu? Ask and together we can see if we can make one that you prefer.WE hope to see you soon!Patrizia & Franco
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Outside of town. A Jewel in a strip center. Do not judge it by the outside.Pizza is Amazing just ask for it Crispy Crispy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent service, excellent food, excellent experience!! Took a group and everything was great!! They have plenty of options on the menu for everyone! Best restaurant in Playas del Coco!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG!!! the bruschetta!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

crazy as it sounds, the best damn pizza and bruschetta that will ever pass your lips!!-staff is awesome-food is OUTSTANDING and VERY reasonably priced - a must if you are in Coco Beach

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

At the edge of a small village, most people would drive by this place without giving it a second glance. The only reason we ended up going there was due to Tripadvisor's restaurant rating system.
It is a very simple place, and an extensive pizza/pasta menu. Run by an Italian family for years, these folks really know how to make a pizza!
We ordered two different types (vegetarian and pepperoni), and they were honestly the best thin crust pizzas we have had in recent memory. We were shocked, and dug in like we'd never had pizza in our lives before.
Great place for a pizza with the family...if you are looking for romantic atmosphere, I'd go elsewhere .
Put this on on your list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDG1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenduine, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pasta in the world Basta !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

In november 2012 I had diner in Restaurant La Caveja. I ordered the pasta Alfredo and it was sublime. I've been around ( all over Europe : Italy, Belgium,France, US, Africa,etc..)
but this was truly perfect. I wish I found this jewel earlier because the next day we had to continue our journey. If you're in the neighborhood don't miss on this opportunity.

Koen Sergeant, Wenduine,Belgium

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caveja also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Caveja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing