We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia

Villa Italia
300 mt oeste de la feretteria san carlo, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
50626700284
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“The best Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had an awesome dinner at the Villa Italia on our last night at Playa Del Cocos. Definately worth the effort to find the place. It is not on the main street so you will have to search a little for this place. The food was very well prepared and the service was excellent. The ambiance was also very romantic. Too bad it was the last night, we would have returned for more! Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    135
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant I've ever eaten at!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have ate at many restaurants around North America including some of the best restaurants in New York, Chicago, Las Vegas, Montreal, and Toronto. This restaurant is by far the best. The food is amazing, the service was exceptional and the atmosphere was perfect. Put this restaurant on your "must do list" if you are travelling near Playas Del Coco. Enjoy...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“This place deserves #1!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Been to Italy and this place really does mimic the beautiful atmosphere, charming service and most important, exceptional flavor and quality pasta! I loved everything about this place. Don't wait, make a reservation and get in so you can know why this place is #1, you won't be disappointed!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italy in Costa Rica?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Yep, we found the most perfect Italian restaurant on a side street in coco beach that could have been from Rome itself...traditional service, impeccable food and wine all for 6 tables. Hard to believe food and service this good is tucked away here but it is. Outstanding Italian food!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service. Remote location.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Owner (spoke no english, yet seems to be in charge of taking reservations) took our reservation for 9. When we showed up 10 minutes early he said he got "confused" and gave our table to someone else.

I can partially overlook the confusion although we made the reservation in person 90 minutes earlier and there are only 5 tables in the place.

What was most disappointing was he made no attempt to address the issue. He felt that by telling me he was confused I would be fine taking 4 adults and 5 kids to some "other" place to find somewhere to eat on a saturday night. Even though there were 2 empty tables that could have been brought together he refused and said we couldn't get served until much later. What made me write this review was his statement that this was not his problem and him walking away while we spoke to him.

Net net I'll never know how good the food is because poor service makes sure I will never attempt to go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaitalia_cr, Proprietario at Villa Italia, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Google Translation
Rispondo direttamente io propietario,direttore e cameriere del mio ristorante, ho imparato che in questo lavoro come in tanti altri,non si risponde mai ad un cliente, in quanto tale per me' molto importante. Lo faccio in questo caso perche' non mi piace essere accusato per cose che non mi sono permesso di fare. Il signore che scrive questa recensione non si rende forse conto che il motivo per il quale non ha cenato nel mio ristorante,non `stato per incomprensione, ma' per il suo comportamento arrogante e maleducato,fra le altre cose tendo a precisare che la figlia piccola intervenuta per l'accaduto si e' scusata dell'atteggiamento del padre che,con fare minaccioso,pretendeva a tutti i costi di voler mangiare in quello stesso istante,mentre la sala era completamente riservata.Inoltre vorrei aggiungere che sono italiano e per imparare lo spagnolo mi ci `voluto qualche tempo, mentre il mio inglese e' pessimo e mai mi permetterei di trattare male una persona perche' non parla la mia lingua soprattutto in un paese che non `il mio. Pertanto chiudo cosi' questo spiacevole episodio che in 7 anni di ristorazione e vita in Costa Rica,non mi era mai capitato.
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Italia also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.