We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia

Villa Italia
300 mt oeste de la feretteria san carlo, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
50626700284
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Authentic Italian food! Excellent service. My husband and myself shared two places that were delicious and my husband is Italian. It was quiet and romantic and not pricey. I would reco for sure!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    147
    22
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit in coco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was a little skeptical going to an Italian restaurant down here, but was pleasantly surprised. Like the reviews say below, this place has so much charm. It is a little difficult to find, but well worth the search. We got an appetizer, meals and desserts and all were top notch. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Distinctly average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is by no means what it seems to be. Amazing setting bad location good service but very average food.

There is nothing wrong with this place and the setting is very nice. But it's just really. Average food. Nothing else to say really.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Who would have thought that you would find one of the best Italian restaurants on a trip to Costa Rica? We were certainly shocked, but pleased with this find recommended to us by our hotel proprietor (Rick at Rancho Armadillo). The restaurant has a wonderful personal feel with only about 8-10 tables and food/service provided by a husband/wife team of real Italian immigrants. Her food is wonderful and his service was top notch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great food just like the great little places all over New Jersey and So. Philly. I had 4 cheese gnocchis w honey -WOW what a taste treat- everyone at my table kept "tasting it" everything else served was delish too! Just perfect italian food

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Italia also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.