We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tours Your Way

Tours Your Way
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
506 8820 1829
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My name is Mainor Lara Bustos. I am a native Costa Rican, who was born and raised in the north pacific province of Guanacaste. For those of you who are unfamiliar, Liberia is located in this province and is a popular travel destination for many North American & European tourists visiting Costa Rica.Fortunate for me, I grew up in one of the most ecologically diverse countries in the world. With nature right at my doorstep, it was easy for me to become intimately familiar with all of Costa Rica natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second time around not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We used this company in 2012 for all our excursions and airport transportation. They provided excellent service, and I didn't hesitate booking with them again on a return trip in March 2014 with a group of seven. The airport transporation was great, but one of the 9 hour excursions took 12.5 hours to complete because they picked up and dropped off other people. These tours have always been private and that is part of their appeal and extra cost but not on this day. To make things worse, we paid $145 per person, and the people who unexpectedly joined us said they paid $100. But the most disappointing thing that happened during our vacation happened the evening before our last excursion, a person in our group got injured at the hotel (unrelated to Tours Your Way) and needed immediate medical attention. We emailed Manor that evening and told him we couldn't go on the tours that next morning, and he still wanted to collect $180 just because it was late notice. We have spent several thousand dollars with him between our two vacations and was really disappointed in his decision to ask for money when we were dealing with a crisis. On the way to the airport to return home, he called his driver to make sure we gave the driver the extra money. His decision to request $180 in an emergency for our family will cost him referrals from us and future business when we return.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    5
    0
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Created a truly unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I visited Costa Rica with a friend last week. We booked Tours Your Way after being impressed by Mainor's quick and friendly email responses. We booked two tours with him - the Hacienda Guachipelin Adventure Tour as well as the Skywalk (Heliconias Lodge & Rainforest). Ariel was our tour guide for the Adventure Tour and could not have made the day more special. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone. It was the perfect blend of adventure and relaxation. And to top it all off, Ariel was so considerate that we felt like VIPs compared to all of the people we saw on large, impersonal tours. Just as a small example, during the tubing portion (which was both my my and my friend's favorite activity), he arranged for our tubes to be waiting for us at the water ahead of time, so we didn't have to lug them down the mountain. On the way home, we mentioned that we were looking for souvenirs, and he made a stop for us at a local shop. "Tours your way" indeed!

Unfortunately, we fell a bit ill the night before the second tour, and called Mainor, who graciously changed our tour to the (more mellow) Palo Verde Boat tour without question. Mainor was our tour guide for Palo Verde and was just as kind and accommodating as Ariel. He stopped at a local stand to pick up a fresh pineapple for us, which he cut up for us to eat on the boat. The tour itself was interesting and we got to see all manner of wildlife. It is definitely a very mellow day, perfect if you're traveling with young kids (or are feeling under the weather as we were).

Overall, the decision to book our tours with Tours Your Way definitely transformed what could have been a standard beach resort vacation to a truly incredible experience, and I would highly recommend them to anyone traveling in Costa Rica.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tours your way...the only way to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Mainor, thank you for sending Ray to take care of our CR adventure day! He was terrific ...prompt, fun, informative and caring to all our needs on Sunday! His personal touches on our day were MORE then our expectations! We will def be contacting you on our next trip back to your amazing country.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Tours your way was recommended to us by friends, and I'm glad we listened. The owner, Mainor responded promptly to our emails, got us to & from the airport without any delay, & was also an excellent guide. Mainor was enjoyable to be with & a very knowledgeable as he took us on a wonderful river tour. I would definitely use his services again & recommend him to anyone traveling to the Costa Rica.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Above and way beyond everyone else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We decided to go with Tours Your Way instead of the tour operators recommended by the Four Seasons or those recommended by Exclusive Resorts. It was without a doubt a great decision. Mainor was not only an excellent tour operator he was genuinely enjoyable to spend time with (which is important if your driving for hours in a car together). We liked him so much we booked two other tours with him while we were there. He consistently gave us more than we expected and he provided us with our best memories of Costa Rica. Thanks Mainor.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Your Way also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Artola, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tours Your Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours Your Way, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.