We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great American Style Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery

Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery
Main St, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
50626701982
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Coconutz is the local hangout and tourist eatery. We have 6 tv's and 3 projection screens for all the sports... Known for the great pizza, but the burgers and tex-mex are not close behind.. Burgers so big, a grown man cant finish it.. Live Music 3 nights a week, with a mix of latin/american easy listening classic rock. With an outdoor deck atmosphere you can sit at the rail and watch the people on the street. The monkeys show up between 3-5 in the trees above for a nice afternoon treat
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great American Style Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had fun watching crazy fellow Americans dance and sing Karaoke poorly. Super service and had cheap beers and good food. It was a fun atmosphere, we went back a few times.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    108
    54
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Erie, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good place for a cold one after some hot shopping spree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

totally relaxed comfort food and style- great place to unwind with a cold imperial after a hot shopping spree!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place is awesome! Great atmosphere, great prices, delicious food, great service, and specials every night. There is also live music Thursday to Sunday. Free wifi too! I went here 4 times, and the food was excellent every time. You won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sports bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Wow we really lucked out here, cheap beers ( 6 bottles for $10) pizza and a Canucks game on the TV! Didn't think i'd see a game on tv while in C.R. but was I ever wrong. Ricky our server was amazing! When I asked about whether they might have the game on, he was on the job and found it immediately. Had it put on one of the many large flat screen tv's and I was in heaven. We had a lakers fan in the party and they put that game on too! Ricky was awesome and his partner Hazel looked after us like kings all night! Love this place. Made sure Nico the manager new how we felt about our servers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slow bad service, worse food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had lunch here during out stay in Coco. The service was very slow and food was pretty bad. I ordered a cheeseburger with a side salad and had to go up to the bar twice to ask for the dressing that was forgotten. We had much better food at other places right on the same strip. The coconut shrimp has flavorless and cold buy the time we finally got it. I would consider going here to grab a few beers and maybe watching some sports but skip the food. On a brighter note, they did have free phone calls to the US, so we were able to get a call in to our parents while we waited and waited for our food. Oh and please don’t get me wrong, we are not "typical" Americans who expect speedy fast American style service, this was our 3rd time to Costa and know how things work. But this place set the standard to a new low.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.