We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wednesday special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery

Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery
Main St, Playas del Coco 5019, Costa Rica
50626701982
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Coconutz is the local hangout and tourist eatery. We have 6 tv's and 3 projection screens for all the sports... Known for the great pizza, but the burgers and tex-mex are not close behind.. Burgers so big, a grown man cant finish it.. Live Music 3 nights a week, with a mix of latin/american easy listening classic rock. With an outdoor deck atmosphere you can sit at the rail and watch the people on the street. The monkeys show up between 3-5 in the trees above for a nice afternoon treat
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wednesday special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

all the pizza and pasta you can eat $8.00 Great staff, all the sports you want to watch. It's a great outdoor venue. There are a lot of Ex pats that go there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    183
    92
    47
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A first taste of civilization in 3 weeks....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We live on our sailboat and having spent 3 weeks in a secluded bahia in the north part of Costa Rica, arriving into Playa del Cocos to check into the country was a welcome change. As it happened, we arrived on a Wednesday, the night they have an all-you-can-eat Pizza, Pasta and Salad deal for $8usd. It's the best thing going! We had spent 7 months in El Salvador at a marina, and the Sunday special was also pizza, with it's 'mystery meat salchicha' standing in for pepperoni, so we were awestruck when the pizza (several different types) had REAL pepperoni. The pasta sauce was very good, and while the salad was standard, the veggies were fresh, cold and crisp. Although the beers were a bit pricey at $3usd each during the rest of the time we were there (Happy Hour the prices drop to $1.65) we were pleasantly surprised at the quality, the cost, and the ambiance at this spot. The place was packed, so get there around 6:15pm when the action starts. There is plenty of food, it's just that although there are quite a number of tables, they were all full 10 minutes after we arrived. If you are a North American sports fan, there are 8 televisions showing any number of games, at all times but If it's a Wednesday and you find yourself in El Coco, it's gotta be Coconutz!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy hour and wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Great happy hour and wi fi. Loved the outside atmosphere! Good margaritas service could have been better but not too bad!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great karaoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We liked the atmosphere. The music was a volumn that allowed conversation & the karaoke was very well done. There was a constant flow of locals and visitors who sang- most of it easy to listen to and when it wasn't, everyone still applauded. Great margueritas!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We during our week stay, ate here 2x, one time dinner, one time lunch. The food was excelalnt and the open air atmopshere was great. We ahd no live music during our visits, but the local cats there were entertaining and the view of the town was great to watch and observe. The prices and food were more American, but great none the less and if one eats there with this in mind, then no surprises later. Would I go back? yes. Tip, they are busy at times and like most of Costa Rica, no rush, so dont go and expect to eat fast or quick drink......Laid back, easy going. it is what it is and no complaints from me......

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.