We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant

Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
011 (506) 2670-0367
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was by far the best burger we tried in Playa del Coco.
Homemade meat patty with all the trimmings.
The spicy slat and pepper calamari was a delicious appy.
Nice pool area that patrons can enjoy.
Service is a bit slow but well worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OK Food, High Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ate dinner there two times. Staff does not understand English well, and they have problem with service with smile.
We ate one time ordering variety of dishes. Some were great others were not so. Second time we ate, as we returned late from our Monte Verde trip and toasted enough to venture out. The second time we ate typical Costa Rican food, which as OK.

I would suggest skipping this restaurant in favor of other traditional restaurant which offer similar food at cheaper prices. May not have view as this restaurant has but you can have better view after your half an hour dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had dinner there on our first night since we were too tired to cook. Since this time of year is off peak season the deal that evening was 10% off, taxes included and a free drink (rum punch).
We all ordered specials which came with vegetables, potatoes or rice. I wouldn't recommend the steak (it was average if that) but my skewered shrimps were delicious.
We were seated on the upper section near the road and it was a nice setting.
Service was courteous and pleasant. It seems all restaurants automatically add the 10% service charge (in addition to the sales tax) but we were told tip was not included by our waiteess so be aware that it actually is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Presentation is great. Food was excellent and the atmosphere was relaxing and up off of the street. One diner had a problem with the preparation and it was handled with no questions asked. The service was excellent and the on reason I did not rank it a 5 is because of the order mistake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Really nice breakfast American style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We ate here twice for breakfast. Very reasonable and good. Pancakes were delicious and the American eggs hash browns bacon dish great. So cheap, for a tourist town, definitely recommend this place when your feeling like a back home breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.