We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good service, a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant

Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
011 (506) 2670-0367
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good service, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food and service is really good. They have great sushi and vegetable tempera. However it seems to be much more expensive than we expected to pay in Costa Rica.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wonderful sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaraunt twice during our week long visit and found the service to be very good. I really enjoyed the sushi. The sushi was better than the local seafood restaraunt in my opinion. Nice selection on their menu for my three boys to choose from. House wine was not very good. Atmosphere was lovely. One of our favorite places to eat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, generous dinner servings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Best place for sushi in Coco! lovely coutyard setting with fountain, so don't be fooled by the surprising exterior. I loved the costa rican breakfast --be sure to ask for Lizano sauce -- and the dinners were delicious and remarkably generous. Funky clientele, including aging hippies, backbackers and newlyweds. Well worth the visit. Good value!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sushi in Costa Rica? You Betcha!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great location and good food. Who would've thought you could get good sushi in Costa Rica! Also has a great breakfast!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pretty good sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

sushi was good, not the best but good for being in CR. Price was a little high. Beer was cold.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.