We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant

Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
011 (506) 2670-0367
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love everything about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This place is a great gem, best Sushi in Playa del Coco. The owner John is so wonderful he will do anything for you even cook you own fish that you have caught that day . Don't miss this place when your there and there hotel rooms were fantastic to.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have eaten here three times. Once for lunch (great). The second time was with a large group dinner (very good) and lastly, just me and my wife and two friends (horrible). Lousy service in fact they forgot to even prepare one of our meals! I'll return one more tine before I decide to write this place off.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Playas del Coco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wonderful hotel in Playas del Coco, Costa Rica. Very nice facilities, good internet access and a US VOIP phone free for guest use, backup power for storms, neat clean and a wonderful staff. Restaurant food is very good, but not inexpensive. Food and beverage a little pricey, but off-set by the quality of the overall facilities and accomodations. 24-hour store/market on site as well. Would DEFINITELY stay there again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Coco!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have eaten at Coco Palms twice now. The first day we ate sushi and it was excellent! We mixed the rolls and had the Wendy, Rainbow, Maragese Especial (?) and the Toonami. The rolls were very flavourful, which is key to good sushi. The fish was fresh and tender. The rice was firm and sticky, so they didn't fall apart. Our server was excellent although it took a while to get served initially as they were quite busy and didn't appear to have enough staff. The dining room is very pleasant with outdoor seating and looking out over the pool and gardens. The ceiling fans help to break up the heat and the chairs have cushions, which we have found lacking in most restaurants here -- most of them are just wooden chairs which are not good for a sore back! We went back yesterday and had fish and chips and the cashew chicken. It wasn't quite the calibre of the sushi but we enjoyed both. Our server suggested their Tom Collins drink with frozen lemonade and iced tea and it was the perfect accompaniment on a hot day. We will definitely be back. Prices are a little on the high side for what you get but not outrageous, and the sushi is definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, CT USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant, reasonable and good food, in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A skip from Coco beach, a block from a variety of shops, food stops and clubs yet quiet and elegant rooms and grounds. Lovely smaller pool with fountain and convenient 24 hr snack and wine shop on premises. The hosts are warm and welcoming at CocoPalms

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coco Palms Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.