We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Pura Vida

Papagayo Pura Vida
Main Street, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Warsaw, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at El Coco for three months and loved all the fresh seafood at Papagayo Restaurant. We tried several catch of the day which included ahi tuna, grouper, and sea bass. Watch out for the drinks though because you could be paying more for drinks than for your meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    20
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited this restaurant last night and had mixed reviews. I got the mahi mahi with Dijon and mushroom sauce...it was amazing. My husband got the red snapper with garlic and it was bad. Not that fresh and way overdone with the garlic. I struggle giving this a 3 star bc I loved my meal so much. We liked the bread and salads served. The atmosphere was fun, we sat and watched the street below.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Small portions for large $$$. The drinks are very tasty but we were confused about the prices on the menu and ended up paying lots for food that wasn't that good. February 2010

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Ontario
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

During our one month stay in Playas del Coco in April, we ate at Papagayo 3 times. While not the absolute best food ever, it was nonetheless quite tasty, though we were not at all fond of the garlic bread served wtih every meal. We did, however, appreciate the salad that was also part of each meal. I tended to stick with the catch of the day, while my husband also tried a seafood gumbo on one of our visits that he very much enjoyed. It was pleasant to sit upstairs and watch the hustle and bustle of Coco in the evening. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

horrible service, food expensive, wait staff adverse

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Pura Vida also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Pura Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.