We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like seafood? Good eats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Pura Vida

Papagayo Pura Vida
Main Street, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Like seafood? Good eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wonderful restaurant. Ate there twice on the upstairs balcony over the shark. Great food. Fresh catch of the day with a variety of preparations. Liked the Veracruzano sauce best. Excellent garlic bread. Recommend the seafood pasta. Service a little slow when they were at their busiest.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Place with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I ate here on our first night of vacation. Neither of us were impressed with the quality of the food.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Tuna Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The "tuna salad", made by swordfish and mango sauce is the best.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Center
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For our first dining out here pretty good start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Went here on our second evening in Coco, recommended by a friend,great choice. We both had the fish of the day(Tuna)but done differently, everything was excellent and the price, very reasonable!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great seafood, quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had sea bass and mahi mahi, both with the mango sauce. The sauce was incredibly good. The service was excellent and the restaurant was attractive. It is Las Olas on the sign just east of the main intersection.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Pura Vida also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Pura Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.