We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Buena Onda

Save Saved
You added Villa Buena Onda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Buena Onda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4X3 Special!
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Playas del Coco
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and stayed for a week in Dec.. Food is first class.. Set up with individual tables.. Food quality top notch.. No buffet, menu to choose from. Now for the location.. Coco isn't the nicest of the cr beaches and restaurants are very spread out so vbo is a great choice because no worries on the food convenience .. What's great about coco is that it's central to all sorts of activities... So great pick overall.. If I went back i would try tamarindo because it's more of a developed town but it's a bit farther from rafting n hot springs.. Though vbo wAs perfect for coco area and our activities ...They set the bar high for my next stay in cr!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was dissapointed with our room. 6 of the 7 rooms have a beautiful view to the pool and the mountains. We had the "garden view". This was a door that opened to a 5' x 5' area with a little table and two chairs and the view of couple bushes. Not what we expected for the price. Very small bathroom, no counter space for the toiletries and a small mirror, the only one in the room. No hot water in the morning, had to take cold showers or wait for the middle of the afternoon. The 20 mimute walk to the beach is not possible. Not what I expected based on the pictures, description and reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halloranc, General Manager at Villa Buena Onda, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback on the Garden Room. We are in the process of making improvements in order for it to be more accommodating to future guests. As you mentioned, this is the only room that has no ocean or pool views. This room is not for everybody, but some guests prefer the privacy it provides as well as the lower nightly rate when compared to our Ocean View suites.

We would like to have offered you a complimentary upgrade during your visit, but we were unfortunately booked solid. We hope that you might return to visit us in the future so that you can experience one of our Ocean View suites.

Playas del Coco is a 15-20 minute, mild walk. A high percentage of our guests make the walk several times during their stay. However, for those who prefer transport, we offer a shuttle service. This shuttle takes guests to all three area beaches (Ocotal, Playas del Coco and Hermosa) and offers a pick up service upon request.

January, 2014 will mark our 1st anniversary as a boutique hotel. We take all reviews very seriously and will utilize your feedback to further improve our customer satisfaction. Thanks again for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this place online when we were researching possible places to hold our July 2013 wedding. I had several other frontrunners I thought would be perfect but figured it wouldn't hurt to add VBO to the options list. We arrived not really sure what to expect and left with a wedding venue for our 90 guests. After we decided on a date, we booked the villa and set to planning! Dayana, Gabriella, Marco and the rest of the VBO team were amazing. I emailed photos of centerpieces, arches, bridal bouquet, etc. and they coordinated everything with the local vendors. We came back a few months later to work out more of the details and they arranged a food tasting for us at the villa. We were greeted with welcome cocktails and they set out with the dishes. Even though it was just a tasting the plates had beautiful presentation and the beef, fish and chicken were all delicious. After the tasting I knew that we really were in good hands. For the wedding week my family and I stayed in VBO and had the most relaxing time. We were served delicious hot breakfasts each morning, had wonderful lunches and we weren't often home for dinner but the one night we were it was also wonderful. The service we received was top notch and the staff there was so helpful. Once the wedding day arrived I was able to sit back and relax while the VBO team and their vendors set everything up. The arch they made was exactly as I pictured, the centerpieces were perfect, the cake was so pretty, and the whole night was everything I dreamed it would be. We held the ceremony out on the lawn overlooking the vegetation and the ocean. Following that was a cocktail hour by the pool while the wedding party went and took photos at the beach. Next was a wonderful buffet style sit-down dinner and we ended the night with dancing. Dayana and her team kept everything moving along and made sure all of our guests were taken care of. We truly had the night of our lives. Playa del Coco was a wonderful place to spend the week with our family and friends. If you are considering Costa Rica for your wedding look no further than VBO.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed at the Four Seasons for several nights previous to this which was really nice. But we liked this even better!! It was so peaceful, the view spectacular, and the service top notch. The Villa itself was beautiful and very clean. I am now ruined from staying at "traditional" resorts :) It would be an awesome place to come with a group of friends.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor and thought it was the best because of the hammock, so relaxing, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I read the reviews and saw the pictures, and thought this couldn't possibly be so good, but it was. While you are here, you MUST take the hidden beaches tour that is offered through the hotel. We saw a school of tuna, a pod of dolphins, a pacific sea turtle, a whiteface monkey, and so many panamic sergeants-major that we thought we were snorkeling in Finding Nemo. This was the perfect place for my bride and me to get to enjoy one another and get our marriage off on the right foot. The hotel only has seven rooms, so you get to know your fellow guests, and we really enjoyed connecting with the other travelers. Some were couples, and some were intrepid singles. This is a great place to stay, I hope we can make it back!

Room Tip: Avoid the "garden suite" if you can... Its view is mostly of the parking lot. Every other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porulz
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I came to Costa Rica for 2 weeks for our honeymoon, staying at 4 different hotels. We started at the Villa Buena Onda and, unfortunately, that set the bar of expectation for our trip. Every other hotel didn't even come close to living up to the experience we had here. The staff was so incredibly friendly, knew our names, and was always there to serve. The rooms were clean and private, and the view was just absolutely breathtaking! We would highly recommend the Villa Buena Onda if you want somewhere quiet and serene. We had SUCH a fabulous time here and will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 5 days at VBO after 4 active days in Arenal it was super nice to go to a chilled out villa to relax in the sun and drink by the pool. As mentioned staff are all amazing and rooms are spotless. This really does feel like a home from home a lot more relaxed than a resort hotel with options to get out and about or literally do nothing!

Words of advice Playa Hermosa is the more chilled out beach to visit, Coco is closer but a bit more touristy - also we experienced the 'romantic' dinner on the ocean deck and you have to be pretty relaxed about all manner of bugs to do this, otherwise regular dinners by the pool are far less stressful!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Buena Onda

Address: Main Street, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Buena Onda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique hotel overlooking the Pacific ocean. Located just 20 mins from the Liberia International airport. Service includes three a la carte meals served daily. Nearby half a dozen beaches, fishing spots, surf breaks and under an hour from the Rincon de La Vieja (hot springs, mud pits) National Park. Fine decor, two-tier swimming pool with a swim-up bar and stunning ocean views make this a special place to visit. Fantastic food and exceptional service can be expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Buena Onda Hotel Playas Del Coco
Villa Buena Onda Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Buena Onda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.