We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laura's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laura's House to your Saves list
Laura's House
Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a great place! The price is great, it's clean, 5 minute walk to the beach and to all the restaurants and bars. Great air con, a safe, and rooms can accommodate 4 people. Also a small breakfast included, but there is a full menu for breakfast. Cute property, and well maintained. I also like the locked gate at night. Made us feel safe! I recommend to anyone on a budget or just want a cheap and good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights, first impression of the b&b was good, it had a pool and sunbeds. The room we were given was very very basic, it had a double bed & a set of bunk beds but no wardrobes or drawers to put your personal belongings away. Lucky for us there was only two of us staying, it would have been extremely uncomfortable with four of us in the room.

Also lacking in the room was a safe and reasonable lighting, along with privacy. Backing directly on to our bathroom was where the staff washed the laundry, you had to run the tap to drown out any sounds you may have been making. Underneath the bedroom window was all the recycling bins, and if you opened the curtains you could see directly in to the bar restaurant area.

My opinion is Laura's house could do with some updating.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 3 if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here one night and it was a really cute place. We arrived early but were able to check in right away. Our room was clean and cool. The bed was a little hard for our taste, but that is just a personal preference. The only complaint we had was that there was security lighting on the walkway to the left of our windows, and it made our room very light at night, and hard to sleep. Some thicker curtains would have been nice. The gardens were beautiful and the pool was great. The breakfast was good too. Everyone was nice and friendly. We had a really enjoyable stay. Very easy walk into town and to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a delightful stay with Laura at this B&B (actually very small hotel). Laura and her staff were nothing short of excellent; extremely welcoming, helpful and providing a delicious fresh fruit/bread/coffee/juice breakfast each day. Sweet location 1 block to beach and short walk to main drag of town.

This was part of a package deal in conjunction with Deep Blue Diving that can't be beat!

Somewhat sparten rooms - don't expect any bathroom accesories ala shampoos/conditioners/body lotions - but clean, air conditioned and functional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I do not know where to begin --everything about our stay was wonderful!! The location is amazing, right in the heart of everything. A 25min drive from the airport and one block away from the beach!!The bed and breakfast is within walking distance to excellent restaurants, bars, shopping, and sightseeing. 

The rooms where wonderful, exceptionally clean, with cute and comfortable bedding and mattress; and best of all… very affordable. Hammocks and chairs decorate the outside of your room for a relaxing spot which was a nice treat!!. There is a restaurant/lounge area where you can read books, hang out and socialize. Laura and staff entertained here and you are always invited. We had great breakfast every morning, often with local favorites recipes, accompanied by amazing coffee and fresh squeezed juices.
The staff also arranged everything to make our vacation truly memorable. I would definitely recommend this small hotel!! Thanks Laura!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. It was very clean, quiet, charming with a pool and courtyard nestled under tropical Costa Rican Foilage. The room clean and neat. The breakfast delicious with fresh cut fruit, fresh bread with guava jam and Laura's special burrito. A couple of minutes has you strolliing downtown El Coco or drinking a glass of wine while watching the sunset on the beach. The service is excellent, Laura is sweet, bilingual, and so accommodating and hospitable. This place has an authentic Costa Rican feel and ambience with helpful and kind staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had planned on staying just a few days but extended our stay for a week because we discovered that Laura's House was the perfect place to experience the real Costa Rica. It is clean, comfy and absolutely delightful. Located a short walk from bustling Coco it is convenient but just far enough to be quiet and private. Breakfasts were yummy and ending our days in the swinging chairs by the pool was perfect. The beach was a very short walk and we enjoyed watching the sunset each evening with the locals. Laura is as nice as can be, speaks excellent English and made sure our stay was perfect! The rooms had a very comfortable bed, clean updated bathroom and a bunk bed if we decide to bring our children next time. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laura's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura's House

Address: Playas del Coco, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playas del Coco
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Playas del Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laura's House B&B boasts 9 rooms all kept to the highest standards of cleanliness. Air conditioning, cable, fans, private bathrooms, and cozy beds. The hotel is set back behind a beautiful pool and a lush garden, where massages are also provided. A local breakfast of eggs, fresh fruit, fresh bread, and gallo pinto is included in your stay. Laura's House is a great, quite, comfortable, hotel; which is also very central to all of the town activities and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Laura's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laura`s House Hotel Playas Del Coco
Laura's House Costa Rica/Playas Del Coco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.