We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful vacation at the Westin Playa Conchal. The grounds are clean and well maintained, the staff friendly and eager to please. We traveled with our children ages 19 & 17 and stayed in the Junior Deluxe Suite with plenty of room.We felt the food was better in some restaurants than others. Favorites: Spirula Pizza/lunch, Faisanella/dinner.

The highlight of our trip was booking our excursions through Jonas at Adventours CR. Jonas provided our private airport shuttles, booked us two fishing trips with transportation (8 sailfish, 1 blue marlin), and took us on a customized zipline/horseback/hiking tour. It was an honor having the opportunity to explore Costa Rica with him. Please see detailed review under Adventours CR.

Things to remember:
Bring $1 and $5 bills for tipping(cab drivers, excursions, etc) and purchases as they will not give you american dollars in change.
Don't forget toiletries as these items are expensive in hotel shop.

Room Tip: Room near pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    575
    169
    48
    26
See reviews for
630
1012
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed at the westin for just under a week and were incredibly satisfied. we upgraded to Royal Beach Club and benefited from a very quiet adult only pool, with 24 hour on site concierge service. i would point out that the people we met who were not in the RBC were also very happy with their experience.

Room-We had an unbelievable suite with Jacuzzi on the patio and a wonderful view of the trees behind the lobby where monkeys regularly hang out. The bed was extermely large and comfortable. the minibar was stocked

Food- we have a strict kosher diet for religious reasons and the hotel was extremely acommodating to our needs. they could not have been nicer. All the people we spoke with said they thoroughly enjoyed the food

Excusrions/Tours-We used Eric Garcia (red shirt on beach) for 2 tours. The Mega Combo was amazing and allowed us to do ziplining, horseback riding, mud bath, hot spring, water slide etc. We also did the PaloVerde river tour where we really got to get a close experience with monkeys and crocodiles. I compared notes with people who used Swiss and other tours and not only were ours much cheaper, they were definitely better.
We used Swiss tours for ATV and had a great time. well worth it.

Service-UNBELIEVABLE. everyone was unbelievably nice. Specifically Yasiel the manager, David and Eric the Royal Beach Club Concierges, William the Food manager. Jonathan the bartender at the RBC pool.

Golf Course-Beautiful. and Empty. i went after 1pm (much less expensive ) and only saw 2 other people my entire round.

Only thing that could be better is night time shows. cute but nothing special. though lots of people have a good time in tamarindo

My wife and I loved Loved Loved this resort and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here on our honeymoon. Overall, we loved our experience here but there were a few things that could use some improvement.
First- the dining 'reservation' set up was ridiculous. They only accept dining reservations upon arrival and when I called at 3:30 (immediately after entering our room) I was told there were no reservations and I'd have to eat at the buffet that night, which I told them was unacceptable and was offered a 9 pm reservation at the Latin Restaurant. We then booked the rest of our dinner reservations for our stay. The dinner restaurants varied (and given the scarcity of reservations, there always seemed to be empty tables- not sure what the game is with the reservations). We enjoyed the French, Mediterranean and Italian the best- we felt like we were at an actual restaurant. We felt as though we were in a dining room in the Asian and Latin restaurants and didn't love them.
The buffet was great for breakfast and lunch as we also enjoyed the other lunch restaurant. There is a pizza/italian restaurant for lunch; which was good; however, be prepared to wait a long time for your food. In my opinion, there should be a few more quick options for lunch (who wants to spend over an hour of a day waiting for food?) and snacks. We ordered room service the morning we checked out which was delivered promptly. The bartenders were attentive and quick, particularly given the cocktails they were making (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic).
Getting towels was a bit ridiculous, given the resort. We were constantly asked which room we were in and given 2 towels. People seemed to leave their towels all over though. The towel stand was in a bit of an inconvenient location and a second towel stand would be really great.
The pool is beautiful and very social. There were ample chairs and space.
We booked our excursions with Eric who is on the beach (not through the hotel) and it seemed to be more cost effective that way.
The onsite activities were limited and when I tried to sign up for one (wine tasting) I was told that it was full with 10 people already (when there were about 1000 guests at the hotel) and it had filled up prior to my check-in, which seemed a bit unfair. Also there wasn't a activity director with a presence or music at the pool, which would have been nice. Also the pool closed at 6 pm which I didn't understand- why not have some later/night time swimming.
The entertainment at night was a bit lame.
I loved that there wasn't pressure to upgrade things constantly- we didn't have a huge 'incidental' bill when we checked out. We were treated very respectfully throughout our stay and the front desk manager was very helpful and quickly responded to our requests.
Our room was 4341 and right across the road from the shops, which was a great location. Also the constant vans are very helpful to get around the premises, especially at night.
Overall, we loved our time at the Westin Playa Conchal and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't beachfront since beach is public. Get an upstairs room if possible because the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Royal Beach Club and got royal treatment. Most of the restaurants are outstanding, the private pool is great, our concierge (butler) was very helpful. Make sure you make reservations for the whole week on your first day to get times you want for dinners. Use Eric Garcia for tours, you can find him out on the beach. He was super reliable and his prices were cheaper than the official resort ones. His wife and a bunch of other ladies give $20 massages on the beach! Overall this is a top notch outfit and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful for anything you need!

Room Tip: Royal Beach Club doesn't allow kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been here under various other brands such Paradisus, Melia and now Westin. The resort is beautiful but the food quality needs improvement. The menus, ironically, mimic all inclusive resorts, very massed produced feeling. Drink quality is like from rum punch cruise, not adequate quality for a Westin. I didn't notice any pool attendants to serve drinks or food at pool making it inconvenient. All this apart, the stay was adequate as the kids liked it, except for a few rotten apples. 1. On Saturday, August 16, 2014, around 10am, I was outside the spa when golf cart, color green, 6 seater, number 6, carrying another guest, was passing the curb and I hailed it down. I was carrying my infant son and asked the woman driver if she could drive us to the pool. Her response was negative and said she wasn't going there. I walked and to my surprise I find her passing by the pool. Great customer service, and great sensitivity as I was carrying an 11 month old crying infant. 2. My companion had a spa treatment in the late afternoon, August 15, 2014. She told me that when she arrived she was treated rudely. Had to wait 30 minutes for a locker, towels. etc. The jacuzzi at the spa was full of rowdy people drinking alcohol where in theory she went there to get a relaxing time. The treatment was regular bordering bad. There was no one to complain when she was leaving as there was no one at the reception. Next day a spa attendant was promoting their services and she told them about experience and said someone would contact her. On check out day, no response yet. 3. Photoshop, boutique, etc., do not accept room charge, defeats purpose of not carrying cash or cards at an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Get something near pool and restaurants or it is a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kag0810
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Westin for my husbands business conference. The resort has wonderful amenities and service is outstanding. My adult children stayed at the connecting villas and paid $80 daily for all inclusive food and drinks. Great value. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in August to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is very nicely maintained and the rooms are spacious and clean. There are a reasonable amount of activities offered for adults and children. We have two main complaints that tarnished our stay. First of all, the staff seemed nice enough- but poorly trained. From a small request like making a reservation for dinner to anything more complicated it seemed we faced obstacles and staff seemed unable to work together to solve problems... Rather, they would claim it was another departments' problem. The service at the pool side was horrible. We waited 45 min for drinks and would have to search out servers for food or drink. On one occasion when we ordered a salad (and we're told that an exception was being made for us) we were told we had to eat it with our hands because cutlery was not allowed poolside. The other issue we had was that we did not buy the all inclusive package as we like to have opportunities to eat locally. Because of this, it was very difficult to know what things cost. Room service and the restaurants did not advertise prices for guests in our situation and it always felt like an imposition to ask about price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;