We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Carefree. AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family of 8 adults and 2 children spent a week at the Westin Conchal for a much needed family reunion. Our 6 yr. old granddaughter especially enjoyed the Kids' Club and the pool. The rest of us spent a lot of time in the pool when we weren't doing other activities.
We made our activities reservations through Swiss Travel...they were very helpful. Eric Garcia would have been a great alternative had we not already made our plans. His wife Gigi has a massage table down the beach...you have to be sure to specify Gigi if you want her, and even then you may find someone else doing your massage.
The restaurants were really nice...our favorites were the Mediterranean, pizza, beach restaurant and Mitra! We always ate breakfast at Mitra, the buffet. Occasionally we went there for lunch or dinner as well. The selections were great and everything was very fresh! We advise getting your reservations in early.
The bartenders everywhere made great drinks and didn't skimp on the liquor!
A main concern were the bees at the pool bar that would follow you around the pool. I'm not sure what can be done as they serve some sweet concoctions which inevitably attract the bees. Just be aware of this issue if you have an allergy to them as we were stung several times.
Our thanks to the great staff for making our family reunion one we will remember for a long time!

Room Tip: We liked the area our rooms were in...room 4355 was a second floor corner room and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear szy2z,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that all the family had a beautiful vacation in our resort and enjoyed the culinary offer and the facilities, as well, it's great to hear that you had fun with the activities of Swiss Travel. We appreciate all your kind comments, and hope to have you back soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    575
    169
    48
    26
See reviews for
630
1012
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just arrived today to spend a week, made dinner reservations for tonight at the Italian restaurant. They couldn't find our reservation and even though I had a confirmation number, they didn't care. The restaurant was about 1/3 full and they still would not seat us. I have read similar comments on this site, they're true. It may be a long week!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a great stay here. About less than an hour from the aiport in Liberia, its really a wonderful place to start or end your vacation. Rooms very nicely appointed, ( not that you will spend too much time in them) and the staff really very helpful, accommodating. We thought that the beach is a bit crowded right when you leave the property so if you make a left,, its a lot more secluded. Oddly the ski-do's are also docked right when you get to the beach, which makes for a bit of an oil slick ( not so nice) One thing- be prepared to be overrun with massage requests and people who want to sell you things when you leave for the beach. Its not the Westin's fault but the ladies are a bit aggressive ( as are the tour operators who hang out there) You can tell them firmly that you are not interested but it's a little annoying. Pools very nice, pizza by the pool wonderful. Also- the dinner reservations get booked REALLY fast, so on the day you arrive, you should book for the rest of your stay. Great visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear CasaBallena,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments with us.
We're glad to know that you had a great time and enjoyed all our facilities and services.
When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back our resort.
Warm regards from playa Conchal,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the Westin after a 4 day stay in the Arenal region at the Tabacon Hotel. Upon arrival at the Westin, we were escorted to the Royal Beach Club towers where we stayed for 5 days. When walking into the lobby, we were handed a cool drink and oriented to the hotel. We then met Erick Hernandez, our concierge for our stay. He brought us to our beautiful suite in Tower One of the Royal Beach Club. The room was clean and beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor and we had two full baths, a living room and master bedroom. On our balcony, we had seats and a hot tub. Erick was available during our stay for anything we could have needed. Upon our arrival, he made us dinner reservations for each night of our stay (reading other reviews we saw that this was a complaint among other visitors that it was difficult to obtain restaurant reservations but for us that was not at all the case)

The only activity we participated in at the westin was kayaking (which was included) and horseback riding on the beach at sunset because we had done a lot of activities in the first portion of our trip ... for the horseback riding, we chose to go through Eric Garcia's guys at the beach rather than the company represented by the hotel... it was cheaper and also we didn't have to shuttle anywhere to ride the horses... $25 each if you paid cash, $30 each if credit card was used compared to the $45 each cost the hotel representative was charging.. it was a great experience and once down on the beach at sunset, we took some great pictures ...

Since this was the relaxation portion of our trip, we took it easy.. We used the gym facility that the Westin had and it was clean with fresh towels and a water cooler. We would then go to the buffet breakfast which had omelets to order and a great "green juice" along with anything else you could have wanted for breakfast.. after breakfast we usually went to the beach for a few hours. On the beach, there are a TON of vendors selling things but usually didn't bother you too much after you told them you weren't interested. My husband took advantage of the $20 beach massages and highly recommends them. The spa at the westin also offers massages which during our stay we had a couples massage which was also great.. it also gives you full access to sauna and pools when you use the spa services.

One thing we loved was that our concierge Erick set up for us to receive coffee and a fruit platter every day at 7 am. It was nice waking up to coffee already prepared before we started our day

We got a lot of our clothing very muddy during the first part of our trip & had to do laundry which I recommend for anyone to avoid.....the total for just a couple of shirts, shorts and some socks was $109.00

BRING ANY MEDS YOU MAY NEED, BUG SPRAY (IF YOU'RE GOING ON EXCURSIONS) & SUNSCREEN. If you forget these items , there is a gift shop with everything you could possibly need, however, like any other resort, they jack the price up. (ex bug spray, $20.00).. we met a couple whose husbands only pair of flip flops broke and he had to resort to buying $60.00 (the cheapest ones) flip flops at the gift shop....

There is a photo center on the resort and they offer an hour long photo session at sunset on hotel grounds...starting up by the photo center and finishing on the beach at sunset... . the photo shoot is free but requires you to buy a minimum of 10 pictures at $15.00 each. It is a little pricey but TOTALLY worth it. the photographers take amazing shots and although we ended up spending a little more than planned on pictures, we love every single picture (they give them to you on a CD) .. they're amazing

Again, we did not do a lot of excursions from the westin because we had done them in the arenal region, however, the activities and excursions (from talking to other people) were mostly long drives from the westin

highly, highly recommend the westin for a relaxed stay in costa rica. absolutely beautiful... and compared to the rainforest, did not rain one drop while we were there :)

Room Tip: royal beach club is the way to go if you're traveling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Nicole M,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon.
We're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time in our Royal Beach Club and that you felt pampered by our staff. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our people, we're always working to give our guests a beautiful vacation. As well, it's nice to know that you enjoyed the facilities of The Spa, an atmosphere of relaxation.
When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Westin. We are from United States and we travel abroad every year. We've been traveling for the past 10 years with our children so we have lots of experience with resorts and this vacation was the best yet! After reading pretty much all 2,000 reviews I had some concerns about food, sickness, the beach, and getting an adjoining room (5 in our family had to get 2 rooms). The food was interesting. It was ALL GOOD however we are from the Midwest of United States and like hamburgers, chicken, and cheesy fries. You won't be getting these staples. Again, food is good to great, but selection is odd. Make reservations at every restaurant upon arrival. They are all good - better than the buffet although buffet is fine - just hard to find normal stuff to eat. Sickness - we just did what the reviews said - washed our hands all the time and used hand sanitize that the Westin provided plus they had station every where to use sanitize. We had a total of 7 in our party and nobody got sick. The beach - reviews are right - the ocean can be rough. Our small children are 10 & 8. There were a few days we didn't spend much time in the ocean because it was rough. But we snorkeled, went surfing, and had plenty of ocean fun swimming. All beaches in Costa Rica are public so be prepared for that. The vendors are not an issue on the beach. The massage ladies kind of bug you, but I just nicely said no thank you and they leave you alone. Costa Rica's are very nice people. We had 8 total massages from Gigi and her team for $20 each! TERRIFIC massages! Based on previous reviews we did use Erica Garcia on the beach to book surf lessons, jet skis, horseback riding, & banana boat. He's very good. Would use again. The last concern I had was our room. All of that worked out perfectly. I emailed the hotel about 1 week before our arrival and although they could not confirm adjoining rooms until arrival it all worked out. Rooms are nice and clean. Layout of hotel is big. Lots of walking but the shuttles are nice to take too. No big deal to us - we like the exercise. My mom and dad went (in their 60's and they don't exercise) and they didn't complain. So really no big deal there. Pool is terrific for families with kids. Only weakness the Westin has it there lack of activities. They post organized activities daily, but they don't do them. The guest has to make sure they happen. I don't think they have an activities director. They need to work on this.Shows every evening at 9pm are good. Drinks are fine. We would definitely come back to the Westin!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Katrina A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that all your family had a great time in our resort. Thanks for your kind comments about the food, our Chefs will be happy to read your review! As well we appreciate your words about the facilities and services and your suggestions about the activities.
We're always working to be better for our guests and this kind of constructive comments are very helpful to us.
Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choochoo town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous grounds, excellent food (though restaurants were better than the buffet), great drinks, beautiful golf course, wonderful staff. The rooms are nice but a little odd in their layout--unless you're in the bathroom area, there is no privacy at all unless the curtains are drawn. Curtains open and you can see the entire main room, including the bed. Not a big deal though. One word of advice--don't book your excursions from the hotel. Take one step onto the beach and you will be presented with opportunities aplenty from the locals. We did the jetskis and horseback ride from the "blueshirt people" and had a fantastic time. The horseback ride especially was phenomenal. Anyway, the resort is not to be missed, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Resort is "beachfront" so to speak, but no rooms have a beach view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 4tiresngas,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you enjoyed such a wonderful time in our resort!
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My Boyfriend and I started our Costa Rica Vacation here at the Westin for a few days then we went whitewater rafting to get to our next hotel which was the Arenal Kioro. We were debating back and fourth between this hotel and the RIU.The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach is amazing. We spent a lot of extra money for the westin name and I don't think it was all everyone makes it out to be. I emailed the hotel and had requested a king bed, upon arrival we found out that isn't what we were getting. I was very upset because I had the emails stating it wouldn't be an issue. We had to fight to get a king bed and then wait 3 hours to gain access to our room. All said it done it was great that they fixed their mistake but it was fusterating that we had to put up a fight for them to keep their word especially when we found out the hotel was only at 30% capacity. The food was just okay nothing to rave about. I made all my reservations for dinner ahead of time through emails. However do double check your reservations when you arrive because they mixed up the times on a few of my reservations. We have been to other all inclusive resort's and the food has been delicious so it was a little disappointing. One of the nights I got sick from the dinner. Luckily I saw a lot of other people's reviews prior to coming and brought medicine from home so I recouped pretty fast. The breakfast buffet was terrible and food was always covered with fly's. The room service breakfast is outstanding and free so I recommend just ordering breakfast to the room every morning. For lunch we liked ordering the pizza to go at the pizza place and bringing it down to the pool. The beach was lovely the first day everyone knows your new and asks you a thousand questions because it is a public beach (all the beaches in Costa Rica are) but after ten-fifteen minutes everyone leaves you alone and it is pure bliss.If you ask someone at the hotel they will bring you down chairs and an umbrella so you can relax. We got massages by Gigi on the beach you cant go wrong with $20 massages. Just go down to the beach make a left and you will see her giant sign. The rooms at the hotel were very spacious and very clean. Drinks and bartenders are fantastic.The hotel it self is gorgeous it just didn't blow me away. My next trip to Costa Rica I would definitely choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi even when you pay for it still isn't very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear jbuonantuono,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the incident with the type of bed in your room, and we're glad to hear that after a while you had a room with king size bed. As well, we regret that our restaurants and culinary offer were not to your liking, but it's nice to know that you enjoyed the room service, and the drinks and bars as well.
Hope the next time you visit Costa Rica give us the opportunity to host you again to offer you a better experience.
Best regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.